SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    6
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Firefox not displaying when run from localhost.

    I have created a webpage which runs perfectly in IE and safari both when accessed from the folders in the server or just type localhost\index.html. But in firefox it is displaying properly when accessed from folder but totally misplaced when runs from localhost. Not even the pictures are getting displayed when run using localhost/index.html.
    Please advise

  2. #2
    It's all Geek to me silver trophybronze trophy
    ralph.m's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, AU
    Posts
    24,203
    Mentioned
    456 Post(s)
    Tagged
    8 Thread(s)
    It would be useful if you could provide more information about how your site is set up. There's not really enough to go on currently.

  3. #3
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    10
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    you might want to post some code as well?

  4. #4
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    6
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks Ralph and truegether.
    My css script
    Code css:
    *{
    	margin:0;
    	padding:0;
    }
     
    #wrapper{
    	width:1050px;;
    	height:700px;
    	left:100px;
     
    	}
     
    #header{
    	display:block;
    	margin-left: 250px;
    }
     
    .intranetlogo{
    	width:200;
    	height:115;
    	position:absolute;
    	padding-top:20px;
    }
    .galliardlogo{
    	width:125px;
    	height:64px;
    	padding-right:10px;
    	padding-left:900px;
    	padding-top:10px;
    	position:absolute;
     
    }
     
    .cssmenu{
    	padding-top:200px;
     
    }
     
    .contentwrapper{
    	background-color: #000;
    	border: 1px outset;
    	width: 1010px;
    	height: 600px;
    	border-radius: 10px 10px 100px 40px;
    	-moz-border-radius: 0 0 100px 40px;
    	-webkit-border-radius: 0 0 100px 40px;
    	overflow: hidden;
    	box-shadow: 10px 10px 10px #000;
    	-moz-box-shadow: 10px 10px 10px #000;
    	-webkit-box-shadow: 10px 10px 10px #000;
    	left:250px;
    	margin-top: 40px;
    	padding-bottom: 0;
    	padding-top: 40px;
    	border-bottom-right-radius:10px;
    	border-bottom-left-radius:10px;
    	border-bottom-width:medium;
    	opacity:0.9;
    	position:relative;
    	overflow-style:auto;
    	overflow:auto;
    	filter: alpha(opacity=90);
    }

    My Html coding

    HTML Code:
    <!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/html4/loose.dtd">
    <html>
    <head>
    <meta charset="utf-8">
    <meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=ISO-8859-1">
    <meta http-equiv="X-UA-Compatible" content="IE=9" />
    <link href="css\stylebest.css" rel="stylesheet" type="text/css">
    <body>
    <div id="wrapper"> 
     <div id="header">
        <div class="intranetlogo"> <img src= "images\logowhite.png" alt="GalliardHomes Intranet" width="700" /> </div> <span class="galliardlogo"><img src="images\whitehorse.png" alt="GalliardLogo" width="115" /></span>
        <div class="galliardlogo"></div> <br>
      <div class="cssmenu">
      <div class="container">	
    	
        <ul id="topnav">
            <li><a href="">Home</a></li>
            <li>
                <a href="">Introduction</a>
                <span>
                    <a href="companyform.html">Company Forms</a> 
                    <a href="siteform.html">Site Management Forms</a> 
                    <a href="Generalinfo.html">General Information</a>
                </span>
            </li>
            <li> <a href="phonebook.php">Phonebook</a> </li>
              <li>  <a href="">Construction</a>
                <span>
                  <a href="docs/ContractList.pdf">Contract List</a> 
                    <a href="ommanual.html">O & M Manuals</a> 
                    <a href="safetymgmt.html">Safety Management</a>
                </span>
            </li>
            <li><a href="rewardmanager.html">Reward Manager</a> </li>
            <li><a href="itpolicy.html">IT Policy</a> </li>
             <li><a href="">IT FAQs</a></li>
                <li> <a href="">Suggestions</a> </li>
              </ul>
    Well, firefox is not displaying the image and wrapper. But displaying the navigation bar.Thanks
    Last edited by Stevie D; Aug 8, 2013 at 03:16. Reason: Code tags added

  5. #5
    SitePoint Evangelist
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Nantwich, Cheshire
    Posts
    413
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Is this because you're using a backslash (\) instead of a forward slash (/) in the image names?
    http://www.firenza.net - my homage to a car from the 1970s

  6. #6
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    6
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks droopsnoot. I have corrected it. But just found the actual problem is, firefox not calling my external stylesheet. When I put the css code inline, its working fine in all browsers, when called from localhost.

  7. #7
    It's all Geek to me silver trophybronze trophy
    ralph.m's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, AU
    Posts
    24,203
    Mentioned
    456 Post(s)
    Tagged
    8 Thread(s)
    dropsnoot makes a good point, though. That forward slash in you image path and in the CSS path should be a forward slash.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •