User Tag List

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Please Help me with Designing a Stand Alone Application

Hi All,

I am new to this whole GTK thing. I am trying to re-develop an application which i previously designed in PHP for web, for display to my employer. The problem is he doesn't have any kind of PHP interpreter and the kind of solution he need is a stand-alone kind.

To be more specific he needs something like...a program like say an .exe where he double cliock it and it is ready to go.He don't want any interpreter to be installed on his machine or does he want to go to command line and type somethings.

Actually this guy wants to use Access and i convinved him an application developed in MySQL & PHP would be great than that. But now i am struck up with this problem.

So Please can anybody tell me how i can make an application stand-alone just like an exe using GTK & PHP?

suneel

Non-Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Java comes to mind... How you can use PHP from the desktop w/out PHP installed though I have no idea. Sorry

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You have painted yourself into a corner because PHP does not become a .exe file and won't execute without having PHP and some type of webserver installed. Even with Java, you have to have Sun's Java installed in order to run it.

If you want a .exe file you will have to use VisualBasic or Visual C++, or any other truly compiled language.
    John

Wanna-be Apple nut silver trophy M. Johansson's Avatar
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Why can't you use Access?
    Mattias Johansson
    Short, Swedish, Web Developer

Buttons and Dog Tags with your custom design:
    FatStatement.com

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)