SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 18 of 18

Thread: Http error 404

  1. #1
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    39
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Http error 404

    Hi..

    I installed WAMP server...

    When I go to localhost iam getting this is

    "NOT FOUND"
    HTTP Error 404. The requested resource is not found.

    how to solve this

  2. #2
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    24
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I am not sure whats going wrong but hopefully following links might help you-

    http://www.simplehelp.net/2008/08/25...hp-in-windows/

    http://www.wikihow.com/Install-WAMP

  3. #3
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Chennai
    Posts
    10
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    check whether you have installed 2 or more DBMS..for example,suppose i have installed mysql and oracle both,then WAMP server will give 404 error.In that case,you need to change mysql ports

  4. #4
    SitePoint Mentor silver trophy
    Rubble's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Cambridge, England
    Posts
    2,367
    Mentioned
    80 Post(s)
    Tagged
    3 Thread(s)
    What are you typing into your address bar.

    It should be something like localhost/folder/file e.g. localhost/rubblewebs/index.php

  5. #5
    SitePoint Wizard silver trophybronze trophy Cups's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    France, deep rural.
    Posts
    6,869
    Mentioned
    17 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    What happens when you enter http://127.0.0.1 as the url?

  6. #6
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    39
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    when i type http://127.0.0.1 im getting the same error

  7. #7
    SitePoint Wizard bronze trophy chris.upjohn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Melbourne, AU
    Posts
    2,189
    Mentioned
    17 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    In your taskbar what color is the WAMP icon??


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  8. #8
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    39
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    orange

  9. #9
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    39
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    when i click start all services im getting..

    could not execute menu item(internal error)[exception]could not perform
    service action.The service has not been started

  10. #10
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    39
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Shud i change skype port??
    if so how to change skype port and how to fin the port for wamp server

  11. #11
    SitePoint Wizard bronze trophy chris.upjohn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Melbourne, AU
    Posts
    2,189
    Mentioned
    17 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Skype has a built in feature that allows the port to be changed, if you do a google search you will find the information to change it.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  12. #12
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    39
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    but the wamp icon in the taskbar is orange in color

  13. #13
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    39
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    wamp server still not working some one help to solve this error

  14. #14
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    39
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    when i click start all services im getting..

    could not execute menu item(internal error)[exception]could not perform
    service action.The service has not been started

  15. #15
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    28
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Here are a few suggestions I would try:

    - Hit start, type services.msc, scroll down and look for wampmysqld and wampapache - make sure both are present, and started. If they are not, do the following:
    o If they are not present, click the wampserver icon, select the service (Apache for wampapache and MySQL for wampmysqld), then Service, then Install Service
    o If there are present but not started, try starting them. You can right click them, properties and click Start (and if you like set them to automatically start too to start when Windows does) or you can do the same as the previous step from the WampServer icon
    - Have you sorted out Skype? There can't be anything on port 80 or Apache won't work (unless you configure it to use another port in your config, but I'd suggest not doing that). If you have, and it's still not working, try removing all the services (in your wamp folder will be a batch script, called something like uninstall_services.bat) - run this and then install the services again. Note that when you install the apache service it will run a script that checks port 80 is free, and it will let you know whether it has been successful or not
    - If you have changed the config I suggest reverting back to the default to start. Regardless, you can check the syntax of your Apache config with the following command: httpd -t (you run this from a command prompt - start -> run -> cmd). Note that if the wamp/apache/Apache2.x.xx/bin folder isn't in your PATH variable you will need to navigate to that folder in the command prompt or shift+right click inside the folder and select Open Command Window Here

    If all of that fails let us know and we'll try some more stuff

    P.S. don't worry too much about the error message from the tray icon - these errors happen a fair bit with WampServer, always have done. Everything can be modified/fixed manually via config files, command line and services.exe
    Last edited by LeonardChallis; Mar 13, 2012 at 18:12. Reason: added a little extra info about tray icon app

  16. #16
    From space with love silver trophy
    SpacePhoenix's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Poole, UK
    Posts
    5,000
    Mentioned
    101 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Have you had a separate install in place previously (separate installs of MySQL, PHP and Apache)?

    Have you checked your firewall settings?

    Do you have IIS running?

    What version of WAMP are you trying to install and onto what version of windows?
    Community Team Advisor
    Forum Guidelines: Posting FAQ Signatures FAQ Self Promotion FAQ
    Help the Mods: What's Fluff? Report Fluff/Spam to a Moderator

  17. #17
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    1
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Go to Apache>httpd.conf change #Listen 12.34.56.78:80
    Listen 80

    to

    #Listen 12.34.56.78:80
    Listen 8080


    go back to your browser and try http://localhost:8080 it should work.

  18. #18
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    1
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I had this same problem with wamp-so i searched and found this solution which actually worked for me
    I had SQL Server 2008 installed in my PC so the port 80 was being used by this.
    No matter what port i assigned wamp in httpd.conf but the problem did persist...
    So i simply disabled all the services related to SQL Server by going to services.msc particularly the SQL Server Reporting Service.
    So thats how i fixed the issue.
    Hope this helps...


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •