SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: what happens?

  1. #1
    SitePoint Enthusiast poil11's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    it look me along time to do that...
    Posts
    99
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    what happens when you go to http://www........com does it go to your isp's web page?
    I will Tell you what is wrong with your website and maybe what you can do to make it better.
    Professional Web Site Reviews ... Usability ...
    Contact Me god@stillsucks.com for more information ...
    look at my other reviews, to see what i have done.

  2. #2
    Don't get too close, I bite! Nicky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Location
    Lancashire, UK
    Posts
    8,277
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    it doesn't take me anywhere, just gives me an error page!

  3. #3
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Posts
    1,390
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    That is an invalid address, so it would turn up as an error

  4. #4
    SitePoint Enthusiast poil11's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    it look me along time to do that...
    Posts
    99
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    that is super wierd. when i do it at work, where we have zyan dsl as our isp. it goes to there web page. must be some wierd thing. thanks for trying.
    I will Tell you what is wrong with your website and maybe what you can do to make it better.
    Professional Web Site Reviews ... Usability ...
    Contact Me god@stillsucks.com for more information ...
    look at my other reviews, to see what i have done.

  5. #5
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Posts
    1,390
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    What browser is this?

    Perhaps there is a way to customize all error pages? Try other sites like http://www.....com and tell us what happens

  6. #6
    Irritability Defined
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    80,000 feet below the surface
    Posts
    1,442
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    As far as I am aware, if you're an ISP (particularly DSL and cable) you have the ability to set up re-directors so that if you type in special URLs (or incorrect URLs) like http://www/ or http://www...........com then the service itself would pick it up and re-direct it to their homepage. My own cable service does this for me if I simply type http://www/
    My 2 Cents (or is that 2.2 Cents including GST?)

  7. #7
    AdSpeed.com Son Nguyen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Silicon Valley
    Posts
    2,241
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yes, I agree, since the error page (I think it's 500 Internal Error) is just a normal webpage, but contain the message, instead of displaying that message, the browser/ISP could show another page.
    - Son Nguyen
    AdSpeed.com - Ad Serving and Ad Management Made Easy

  8. #8
    SitePoint Enthusiast poil11's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    it look me along time to do that...
    Posts
    99
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    no matter what browser i use i still go to zyan.com and also no matter how many periods i put in. well thanks everyone, it is just wierd how i came across that.
    I will Tell you what is wrong with your website and maybe what you can do to make it better.
    Professional Web Site Reviews ... Usability ...
    Contact Me god@stillsucks.com for more information ...
    look at my other reviews, to see what i have done.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •