SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: PHP output

  1. #1
    SitePoint Addict devil cat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Reno
    Posts
    344
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    PHP output

    I have a question, which is not causing a problem, but which intregued me.

    My site is written in PHP, which I thought was supposed to output HTML like normal. It looks fine, but if I try to view the source code, I only get the section tags of HTML: html, head, title, body and I did get the meta tags I put on my site.

    Is that a setting in php.ini or something?

  2. #2
    "Of" != "Have" bronze trophy Jeff Lange's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Calgary, Canada
    Posts
    2,063
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Can you post the script you are attempting to run?
    Who walks the stairs without a care
    It shoots so high in the sky.
    Bounce up and down just like a clown.
    Everyone knows its Slinky.

  3. #3
    SitePoint Addict devil cat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Reno
    Posts
    344
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Everything runs fine on it. I get a completely viewable page, but the source code doesn't show, except the main tags (i.e. by right clicking or selecting View -> source).

  4. #4
    SitePoint Addict The Mog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Manchester UK
    Posts
    310
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    this is because php is a server side scripting language and not a client side like Javascript and html,thus it gets compiled at runtime on the server and not the local machine, thats why you only see the parsed page in html

    the good thing about this is that no one can "steal" your code [img]images/smilies/smile.gif[/img]

    hope this clarifies your q
    The Mog

  5. #5
    SitePoint Addict devil cat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Reno
    Posts
    344
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Almost "The Mog"

    I can't even see HTML code at all (except for the <html><head><body> tags). This isn't something I'm concerned about (if someone wants to copy my page they'll have to do it by sight). I was just wondering why it might be happening...

  6. #6
    SitePoint Addict The Mog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Manchester UK
    Posts
    310
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    is this page on a live server or a development server????

    if its live post the Url and i will see whats happining Maybe its to do with your PC cause i cant see any reason why this could be happening

  7. #7
    SitePoint Addict devil cat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Reno
    Posts
    344
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It's live at [edit - removed link. Don't want to be thought as advertising]

    If it's my PC, then it's both my work and home PC.

    If I save the page to the computer, I get the full result html, but not otherwise.

  8. #8
    "Of" != "Have" bronze trophy Jeff Lange's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Calgary, Canada
    Posts
    2,063
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    scroll down, all the code it below.

    someone did a crappy job trying to hide his code.

    (I guess some people fell for it )
    Who walks the stairs without a care
    It shoots so high in the sky.
    Bounce up and down just like a clown.
    Everyone knows its Slinky.

  9. #9
    SitePoint Addict devil cat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Reno
    Posts
    344
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by cyborg from dh
    scroll down, all the code it below.

    someone did a crappy job trying to hide his code.

    (I guess some people fell for it )
    That would have been me, and I "tried" nothing.

    Now, why did I not notice that?.....

    Thanks for pointing out what I didn't intend though.

  10. #10
    SitePoint Addict The Mog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Manchester UK
    Posts
    310
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    it just Bad code thats all, closing all your tags then reopening them?????

    post your code and i will try and point out the error for you

    The Mog

  11. #11
    SitePoint Addict devil cat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Reno
    Posts
    344
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I'll have a look when I get home. It's probably something in an include file.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •