SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Free Translator

  1. #1
    SitePoint Evangelist Barnum's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    418
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Free Translator

    Was thinking about adding a translate widget to my website, but wondered if it's practical and if there's a free download out there?

  2. #2
    Gre aus'm Pott gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy
    Pullo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    6,045
    Mentioned
    219 Post(s)
    Tagged
    12 Thread(s)
    Hi,

    Do you mean to translate words and snippets or to translate your whole page?

  3. #3
    SitePoint Evangelist Barnum's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    418
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Honestly I am not sure...is it possible to translate whole page?

  4. #4
    Gre aus'm Pott gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy
    Pullo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    6,045
    Mentioned
    219 Post(s)
    Tagged
    12 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Barnum View Post
    is it possible to translate whole page?
    If you have a Google account, it sure is
    https://translate.google.com/manager/website/

  5. #5
    SitePoint Evangelist Barnum's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    418
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It does not work....have tried on various pages and it just freezes my aero....nada. I post the meta before </head> and the div/script code where I want it and nothing.... I tried restarting and the pages will open but there's nothing at all there.

  6. #6
    SitePoint Evangelist Barnum's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    418
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Never mind I found the problem. ME! Didn't think about having to upload it to make it work. Oh well, never said I was smart. Thank you Pullo very much!

  7. #7
    Gre aus'm Pott gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy
    Pullo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    6,045
    Mentioned
    219 Post(s)
    Tagged
    12 Thread(s)
    Hi there,

    You beat me to it.
    I just signed up for the service and made a test page which worked as expected.

    Anyway, it's working now - all's well.

  8. #8
    SitePoint Evangelist Barnum's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    418
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Never said I was smart....

  9. #9
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    4
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Google Translate
    But I think free translation software are not good

  10. #10
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Fpolis - SC
    Posts
    11
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You could use Google translet widget (which is ugly) or you could work with the Google Translate API which is great! You just have to signup at apps.google.com in order to do that.

  11. #11
    Non-Member
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Posts
    0
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    bing translator is the best for your translation

  12. #12
    Life is not a malfunction gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy
    TechnoBear's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Argyll, Scotland
    Posts
    6,408
    Mentioned
    273 Post(s)
    Tagged
    5 Thread(s)
    As this thread is almost a year old, I imagine Barnum has long since found a solution.

    Thread closed.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •