SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    SitePoint Enthusiast romanntiko's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    62
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Question Creating Flashing Text

    I wanted to use a scrolling vertical marquee but from what I read and saw posted, it doesn't look professional anymore. SO I want to know how to create a flashing text, its just so I can input the flashing text in my annoucements table.

    THX

    R
    "I tell you, Peter," "the rooster will not crow tonight until you have said three times that you do not know me"...

  2. #2
    SitePoint Wizard aaron.martone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Florida, USA
    Posts
    2,322
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Since you posted this in Flash/Actionscript forum, I'm going to assume you want the know-how to make flashing text in Flash™?

    A loop would work best.

    Code:
    for (x=1; x<=100; x++) {
       setProperty(object, _alpha, x);
    }
    for (x=100 x>=0; x--) {
       setProperty(object, _alpha, x);
    }
    Of course, this fades the text in and out. True flashing is more of a on/off/on/off. In which case, just use code like

    Code:
     
    _root.object._alpha=0;
    _root.object._alpha=100;
    As well as an appropriate timer between those statements to slow the flashing.

  3. #3
    SitePoint Enthusiast romanntiko's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    62
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thank you for the prompt reply aaron, however I am a total newbie when it comes to Flash 5. Perhaps maybe you can direct me to a site where it shows how to do with an interface. Or show me a step by step approach using Flash 5...

    THANX!

    ~R~
    "I tell you, Peter," "the rooster will not crow tonight until you have said three times that you do not know me"...

  4. #4
    SitePoint Wizard aaron.martone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Florida, USA
    Posts
    2,322
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Oh. I use Flash MX coding. I would recommend picking up a book and reading up on the subject. The learning process is worth the time in my opinion.

  5. #5
    SitePoint Zealot webQS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Sydney : Australia
    Posts
    144
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi

    setProperty is Flash 4 actionscript, much better to use dot syntax.

    clip._alpha++;
    clip._visible = false;
    etc etc

    Also, before you start coding it may be worthwhile to ask why flashing text is needed. It can be irritating to some users. Other identifiers can be used to focus attention
    -colour
    -alpha
    -font selection.
    -background colour.

    HTH
    James


    Quote Originally Posted by aaron.martone
    Oh. I use Flash MX coding

  6. #6
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    181
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    "setProperty is Flash 4 actionscript, much better to use dot syntax"

    ...not always. Flash 4 syntax is often processed by the Flash player faster than using dot syntax.

  7. #7
    SitePoint Wizard aaron.martone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Florida, USA
    Posts
    2,322
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    lol. I said I use Flash MX Coding only because I'm not going to cross check my code with Flash 3, 4, 5 functionality to see if it works. My code works fine in Flash MX...that's what I code for; if it works in 3, 4, or 5 as well, all the better.

  8. #8
    SitePoint Zealot webQS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Sydney : Australia
    Posts
    144
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi

    I guess what I was trying to get across was that slash syntax from Flash 3 and 4 days is already deprecated. We would have to be careful then that code we use is compatible with future players, beyond 6, that may ignore slash syntax altogether.
    Also, dot syntax makes the move to OOP a lot easier.

    Cheers
    James


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •