SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    SitePoint Guru
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    calif
    Posts
    743
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Why can't I access this link, via my Windows XP pc, via Firefox?

    This (test) link generates a blank page for me, via Firefox:

    http://demo.infysol.com/video-test.html

    but I can see the player and play the video via other computers, via Firefox.

    Why is this happening?

    I removed FF 21.0, cleared my cache, turned off my computer, reinstalled FF 21.0 and then reset Firefox, but when accessing this link (via Firefox) I see a blank page, but I can see the player and play the video via IE8. (You can probably see the player and play the video via your computer's Firefox, too).
    Please help me solve this mystery.

  2. #2
    SitePoint Guru Webinsane's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Montenegro
    Posts
    898
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Maybe domain is blocked in hosts file. Go to:

    %systemroot%\system32\drivers\etc\


    and open hosts file as administrator. Check if you have your IP blocked.
    CUBE SCRIPTS MEDIA
    REAL ESTATE SCRIPT 2.0 | Software for Real Estate Agencies

  3. #3
    SitePoint Guru
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    calif
    Posts
    743
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    but I can see the player and play the video link via IE8 on my pc. Wouldn't my ip being blocked not allow that?

  4. #4
    Barefoot on the Moon! silver trophy Force Flow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Northeastern USA
    Posts
    4,606
    Mentioned
    56 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by ChrisjChrisj View Post
    but I can see the player and play the video link via IE8 on my pc. Wouldn't my ip being blocked not allow that?
    Correct. It's probably not being blocked in the hosts file.

    It ran fine on my instance of FF.

    When you uninstall FF, it typically leaves your profile behind, so it's likely that uninstalling/reinstalling actually doesn't do anything for you.

    So, uninstall firefox, then go to "%appdata%\mozilla\firefox" and delete the profiles folder, then reinstall. That will set everything back to default for firefox.
    Visit The Blog | Follow On Twitter
    301tool 1.1.5 - URL redirector & shortener (PHP/MySQL)
    Can be hosted on and utilize your own domain

  5. #5
    SitePoint Guru
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    calif
    Posts
    743
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks you for that reply. After I uninstall FF, where can I find: "%appdata%\mozilla\firefox" ?
    Thanks again

  6. #6
    Barefoot on the Moon! silver trophy Force Flow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Northeastern USA
    Posts
    4,606
    Mentioned
    56 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by ChrisjChrisj View Post
    Thanks you for that reply. After I uninstall FF, where can I find: "%appdata%\mozilla\firefox" ?
    Thanks again
    Open any windows explorer window, and paste that (without quotes) into the address bar.

    The %appdata% environment variable is an alias for a system path.
    Visit The Blog | Follow On Twitter
    301tool 1.1.5 - URL redirector & shortener (PHP/MySQL)
    Can be hosted on and utilize your own domain

  7. #7
    SitePoint Guru
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    calif
    Posts
    743
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks for your reply.
    However, I'm still unclear on how to "delete the profiles folder" after I uninstall FF.
    Any additional help/clarification will be appreciated.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •