SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    SitePoint Zealot webQS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Sydney : Australia
    Posts
    144
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Opera 7, POST and Flash - help.

    Hi

    I'm experiencing some difficulties with Opera 7.11 (win2k) retrieving data via POST into a Flash file. Works fine on Moz and IE.

    The interesting thing is that I tested on another version of Opera (7.01 I think) - different PC - and it worked fine.

    Could any Opera users go to my site (below) and then post here with what happens. I get stuck on my requesting content text.

    Cheers in advance
    James

  2. #2
    SitePoint Wizard aaron.martone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Florida, USA
    Posts
    2,322
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Using Opera 7.10
    Everything loads til you get you main navigation, where center says "Request in Progress" and never changes. Control Panel Movies. None of the navigation at the top works or does anything. The WHAT DO YOU WANT section seems to be working (WinXP Pro here)

  3. #3
    SitePoint Zealot webQS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Sydney : Australia
    Posts
    144
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    That's what I get.. on 7.11/w2k but 7.01/win98 works fine.
    The news section is drawing POSTed data from a text file so POST is not the issue.

    ---
    Interesting - I just downgraded to 7.01 on w2k and it works fine - must be 7.1 and above then having a problem talking to the Flash Player...
    ----

    There's a thread about general Flash probs at Opera
    http://my.opera.com/forums/showthrea...threadid=12493

    Thanks again
    James



    Quote Originally Posted by aaron.martone
    Using Opera 7.10
    Everything loads til you get you main navigation, where center says "Request in Progress" and never changes. Control Panel Movies. None of the navigation at the top works or does anything. The WHAT DO YOU WANT section seems to be working (WinXP Pro here)

  4. #4
    Dumb PHP codin' cat
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    5,460
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    This is a recent problem, and people are starting to talk.
    http://www.actionscript.org/forums/s...381#post137381

    Isn't 7.11 a beta version?

  5. #5
    SitePoint Zealot webQS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Sydney : Australia
    Posts
    144
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by freddydoesphp
    Isn't 7.11 a beta version?
    7.11 is a full release apparently (latest version) no b's in the exe downloaded like with 7.0b2

    Cheers
    James

  6. #6
    SitePoint Zealot webQS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Sydney : Australia
    Posts
    144
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by freddydoesphp
    Isn't 7.11 a beta version?
    7.11 is a full release apparently (latest version) no b's in the exe downloaded like with 7.0b2

    Cheers
    James

  7. #7
    Dumb PHP codin' cat
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    5,460
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Tis true, well hopefully a new flash player release will address it.

  8. #8
    SitePoint Zealot webQS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Sydney : Australia
    Posts
    144
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    G'day

    Wouldn't a fix in Opera be better? IE and Moz both support the current Flash Player regarding LoadVars.

    Cheers
    James

    Quote Originally Posted by freddydoesphp
    Tis true, well hopefully a new flash player release will address it.

  9. #9
    Dumb PHP codin' cat
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    5,460
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Wel thats one way to look at it, not sure how one would convince Opera they need to fix their product to make it work with another product. I look at it like a browser is a tool that can be used to view flash movies, and that the the flash player would be responsible for making sure it was compatible with the browser that was vieiwing it. It doesn't really matter though, what matters is it gets fixed. Opera supports regular post operations using standard HTTP, so I am trying to figure out why it doesn't support POST from a flash movie. It must be something in the headers that flash passes.

  10. #10
    SitePoint Zealot webQS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Sydney : Australia
    Posts
    144
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by freddydoesphp
    Wel thats one way to look at it, not sure how one would convince Opera they need to fix their product to make it work with another product.
    Yep, I'd agree if it didn't work at all in any version of Opera but something has changed from 7.01 to 7.1 - so I doubt it's Flash Player if 6.0r65 and 6.0r79 both work with 7.01 but not >7.1.

    I'll have a fool around with the passed headers as well, see what comes up via PHP.

    Cheers
    James

  11. #11
    Dumb PHP codin' cat
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    5,460
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Another thing to keep in mind, if you go here
    http://www.macromedia.com/help/en_us...tdrc/index.cfm

    You'll notice Opera is not one of the supported browsers according to MM. Maybe it should be.


    Also Opera seems to choke on remoting apps as well
    http://www.macromedia.com/support/fl..._supported.htm


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •