SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    SitePoint Zealot cruncher06's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    126
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Question How Do I Enable A Drop Down List When Another Drop Down List Item Is Selected

    I am attempting to enable a drop down list when an item is selected in another drop down list.

    Here is my code:

    Protected Sub ddlDepartment_SelectedIndexChanged(sender As Object, e As System.EventArgs) Handles ddlDepartment.SelectedIndexChanged
    ddlDivision.Enabled = True


    End Sub


    But it does not enable the other drop down list. What do I need to do?

    Thanks.

    Chris S.

  2. #2
    SitePoint Wizard bronze trophy PicnicTutorials's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Carlsbad, California, United States
    Posts
    3,657
    Mentioned
    15 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    That's not html or css code

  3. #3
    SitePoint Zealot cruncher06's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    126
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It's VB.NET.

  4. #4
    Hosting Team Leader silver trophybronze trophy
    cpradio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    5,151
    Mentioned
    152 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    When you select a value in the first drop down, is the page performing a postback or just sitting there? If it isn't performing a postback, that is why, you haven't registered the event you defined with the control yet, and that needs to happen.

  5. #5
    SitePoint Zealot cruncher06's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    126
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by cpradio View Post
    When you select a value in the first drop down, is the page performing a postback or just sitting there? If it isn't performing a postback, that is why, you haven't registered the event you defined with the control yet, and that needs to happen.
    The page does not flicker and I don't have the control in an update panel, so I have to say that it does not do a postback. What do I need to do to force it too?

  6. #6
    Hosting Team Leader silver trophybronze trophy
    cpradio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    5,151
    Mentioned
    152 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Within the aspx file there are two properties you can set. AutoPostBack (needs to be true), and OnSelectedIndexChanged (needs to have ddlDepartment_SelectedIndexChanged)

  7. #7
    SitePoint Zealot cruncher06's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    126
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    When I click on the drop down, it works, but when I select the first drop down list box, it always go back to the first item in the list no matter what I select.

  8. #8
    Hosting Team Leader silver trophybronze trophy
    cpradio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    5,151
    Mentioned
    152 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I'm not following, can you provide a few screenshots?

  9. #9
    SitePoint Zealot cruncher06's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    126
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by cpradio View Post
    I'm not following, can you provide a few screenshots?
    I uploaded a video on YouTube. There is no sound but you can see that when I click on the item in the drop down no matter what it is, the first item is displayed.
    Here is the link: http://youtu.be/gIbbCdZJZVM

  10. #10
    Hosting Team Leader silver trophybronze trophy
    cpradio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    5,151
    Mentioned
    152 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    hmmm... That's weird. Also, it still doesn't seem to be performing a post back (at least in the video it didn't post back...)

  11. #11
    Hosting Team Leader silver trophybronze trophy
    cpradio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    5,151
    Mentioned
    152 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    See the attached example (very simplified), I provided it in both C# and VB.
    Projects.zip

  12. #12
    SitePoint Zealot cruncher06's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    126
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    cpradio, your original solution worked. The reason that the same value displayed was because I selected the wrong field in my database. That field only had three unique records. So it would select the first from a series of records. After referencing the right field, everything works as well as the postback. Thanks for the help.

  13. #13


Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •