SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

SitePoint Zealot
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I'm a longtime graphic designer and a recent (just past couple of years) web designer who created a hobby site a few months ago called Titans12thMan.com. It is an e-zine for Tennessee Titans fans that I did for a number of reasons - one being that I love the team and the other being it allowed me to try out some different things to further develop my skills as a web designer.

What has happened since it's launch 4 months ago is it has steadily increased in traffic. With limited promotion, I get around 100 hits a day which is not massive but a continuous improvment.

Onto my question: a company has contacted me to purchase the concept and design of my site. They have their own domain name and do not want mine. They are also interested in using me to maintain the site.

I know selling domain names is common. But what of a site's concept and design? My goal is to go to him with one price for the sale of the site itself and another for the ongoing maintenace of the site. The ongoing part I can figure out based on the hours I currently spend working on the site X an hourly rate. The "selling price" is the one I am having a hard time coming to terms with.

Anyone have any advice as to selling a site concept? How about an hourly rate for the ongoing production of the site?

Thanks for any help.

Serial Publisher silver trophy aspen's Avatar
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Your background in graphic design has served you well.

For the complete site you need to take a couple things into account.

1. The time it took you to make it * How much you want to get paid per hour. Took ya 20 hours? You want $60 an hour. $1200.