SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 17 of 17

Thread: help PHPADS !!!

  1. #1
    SitePoint Evangelist
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    England
    Posts
    587
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    OK finally after a bit of confusion I have this up and running on my server

    but it does not seem to work.. I have used the admin interface toadd a client and have inputted the banner url and specified 30 days...

    It also tells me I must include the following files in each page I want the banners to be displayed..

    config.inc.php3
    view.inc.php2
    acl.inc.php3

    At the moment as I have a launch notifiaction page up and all my site is in a folder called test there is not much point in setting the whole thing up.. But I wanna test it on one page

    So I have included the folowwing where my banner should go..

    <!--#include file="../phpAds/config.inc.php3">
    <!--#include file="../phpAds/view,inc.php2">
    <!--#include file="../phpAds/acl.inc.php3">

    Is this right ? Well, the banner is not being displayed and I can see the includes on my html on a view source..

    As my folder is test, I have done the ../ to get it back to the root folder and then the path is correct..

    Any ideas on why this does not work ? ?
    Wannabebig Bodybuilding
    Wannabebig Bodybuilding Forums - Wanna be bigger and stronger?
    At Large Nutrition - nutritional supplements

  2. #2
    SitePoint Evangelist
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    England
    Posts
    587
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    for those of you that have noticed the comma serror in the second include I have fixed this and no luck

    I have also tried

    <!--#include
    file="http://www.wannabebig.com/phpAds/config.inc.php3">

    <!--#include file="http://www.wannabebig.com/phpAds/view.inc.php2">

    <!--#include file="http://www.wannabebig.com/phpAds/acl.inc.php3">
    Wannabebig Bodybuilding
    Wannabebig Bodybuilding Forums - Wanna be bigger and stronger?
    At Large Nutrition - nutritional supplements

  3. #3
    Freelance Web Designer KeithMcL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    Dublin, Ireland
    Posts
    1,125
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Have you tried <!--#include virtual=""--> instead?

    What about changing the pages to be php and try uing PHPs include?

    I did get phpAds to work on my site. Think I had to have the index.html page as index.php though.

  4. #4
    SitePoint Evangelist
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    England
    Posts
    587
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    thanks for the suggestions Keith but no luck...

    I tried virtual....

    I also tried chaning the extension of my page to php that I am testing..

    http://www.wannabebig.com/test/about.html

    If you do view source the includes still show.. surely they shouldn't huh ?

    [Edited by Cloughie on 11-01-2000 at 05:56 AM]
    Wannabebig Bodybuilding
    Wannabebig Bodybuilding Forums - Wanna be bigger and stronger?
    At Large Nutrition - nutritional supplements

  5. #5
    Freelance Web Designer KeithMcL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    Dublin, Ireland
    Posts
    1,125
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Cloughie, the reason the includes are still showing is because you didn't name the file as a .shtml instead of .html

    I forgot to do that once and couldn't understand why

  6. #6
    SitePoint Evangelist
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    England
    Posts
    587
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    tried that too !!!!

    Kevin managed to help me ... I am going to change all of my pages in my site to .php, then use php includes

    Wannabebig Bodybuilding
    Wannabebig Bodybuilding Forums - Wanna be bigger and stronger?
    At Large Nutrition - nutritional supplements

  7. #7
    SitePoint Evangelist
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    England
    Posts
    587
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    ANOTHER PROB..
    OK the includes are now working I think

    Any used php ads ? I have made up 2 customers... One with a html adresss, and the other as a sql...

    I can't seem to get it to work...

    I have included the files before any html in the .php page like so..

    <?php

    include("http://www.wannabebig.com/phpAds/config.inc.php3");
    include("http://www.wannabebig.com/phpAds/view.inc.php3");
    include("http://www.wannabebig.com/phpAds/acl.inc.php3");


    ?>

    What do I put where the banner should go ? ?

    I have tried view(1); for example... It says the view function is undefiined ? ? Surely the view thing should be in the include files..., which leads me to suspect the includes aren;t working.. but when you view source the page I can;t see the includes just a blank space so then I think they are !!

    Any ideas. ?



    [Edited by Cloughie on 11-01-2000 at 08:31 AM]
    Wannabebig Bodybuilding
    Wannabebig Bodybuilding Forums - Wanna be bigger and stronger?
    At Large Nutrition - nutritional supplements

  8. #8
    Freelance Web Designer KeithMcL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    Dublin, Ireland
    Posts
    1,125
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I can't remember how i got it to work. I don't use it anymore.

    I'd suggest going to the phpAds support forum at http://www.phpwizard.net/phorum/list.php?f=2 and asking for help there.

  9. #9
    SitePoint Evangelist
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    England
    Posts
    587
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    been al over the iste and other people have asked the same question with no usefull answers..

    I still get fatal error - call to unsupported or undefined function view ()

    I am doing

    <?

    view(0)

    ?>

    Which is supposed to view a randonm error...

    The view include file sets the function for this so I think I am doing things right ?

    anyone else ?
    Wannabebig Bodybuilding
    Wannabebig Bodybuilding Forums - Wanna be bigger and stronger?
    At Large Nutrition - nutritional supplements

  10. #10
    Freelance Web Designer KeithMcL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    Dublin, Ireland
    Posts
    1,125
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I just joined CJ.com but haven't setup by banners yet. I'm pretty sure I still have phpAds setup somewhere on my site.

    I'll play around with it and see if i can remember how I did it

  11. #11
    Freelance Web Designer KeithMcL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    Dublin, Ireland
    Posts
    1,125
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Well Cloughie, I got my phpAds to work

    This is the code i used to call on the banner <a href="/phpAds/click.php3"><img src="/phpAds/phpads.php3?what=468x60&n=ban1" border="0"></a> and it seems to work ok.

    Because vBulletin uses a table called session I had to put phpads before all phpads tables and go through every file editing the call to the tables

    But it's working now

    A working example is at http://www.webmasterswork.com

  12. #12
    Freelance Web Designer KeithMcL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    Dublin, Ireland
    Posts
    1,125
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Now that only calls the same banner over and over because it mentions ban1 in the image tag but as far as I remember you can just leave the what=468x60 to show random banners.

    I'll add a few more banners and see if I can get it to chose random ones and if so i'll post how I did it here.

  13. #13
    Freelance Web Designer KeithMcL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    Dublin, Ireland
    Posts
    1,125
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yes, just having <a href="/phpAds/click.php3"><img src="/phpAds/phpads.php3?what=468x60" border="0"></a> works fine.

    Did you get it sorted yet?

  14. #14
    SitePoint Evangelist
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    England
    Posts
    587
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    yep sorted...

    What does 468x60 mean ? Obviously the size of the banner. I have two clients in my phpads...

    How do I rotate the,.randomaise them, etc.... I.,e change the display options... ?

    Hey I added you on icq... Can you turn it on ?

    Wannabebig Bodybuilding
    Wannabebig Bodybuilding Forums - Wanna be bigger and stronger?
    At Large Nutrition - nutritional supplements

  15. #15
    SitePoint Evangelist
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    England
    Posts
    587
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    ok 468x60 in random yeah ?

    However when I keep refreshing the same banner shows... The sql one....

    I also have a html banner with a url etc.. This one dosen;t come up..

    Is it best to generally keep them in sql ?

    Also when you delete a client does it delete the graphic from the db ?

    Sorry for all the q's
    Wannabebig Bodybuilding
    Wannabebig Bodybuilding Forums - Wanna be bigger and stronger?
    At Large Nutrition - nutritional supplements

  16. #16
    SitePoint Evangelist
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    England
    Posts
    587
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    WWWWWWOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOHHHHHOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO

    got it all sorted now....

    Cheers Keith...
    Wannabebig Bodybuilding
    Wannabebig Bodybuilding Forums - Wanna be bigger and stronger?
    At Large Nutrition - nutritional supplements

  17. #17
    Freelance Web Designer KeithMcL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    Dublin, Ireland
    Posts
    1,125
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    No problem Cloughie, glad I could help


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •