SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    SitePoint Zealot MystaMax's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    158
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    CSS layout problems

    hello! i'm new to css layout and not to good at hand coding just yet. so i did a lot of looking around and found a program called layout master by Westciv . i'm sure everyone familar w/ CSS has came across the site... anyway i began to layout a site with the program and it seem to be doing exactly what i wanted. but before i got to excited, I went into dreamweaver and i noticed that the black bars (link provided) were not where i put them in layout master? All i want is the two black bars to stay at the respective ends of the middle grey box. i also wanted the three objects to stay centered no matter if the user maximized or minimized their browser? Has anyone else attempted to use this program? any success? pros and cons? should i become more familar w/ hand-coding 1st? if anything else is needed to assist me w/ my problem let me know. thanx before hand

    Max

    Link to site

  2. #2
    SitePoint Guru quenting's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    735
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    maybe try this :

    #TopBox {
    background-color: #000000;
    height: 25px;
    left: 0px;
    position: absolute;
    top: 0px;
    width: 650px;
    z-index: 5;
    visibility: visible;
    }
    #MainBox {
    background-color: #808080;
    height: 375px;
    left: 200px;
    position: absolute;
    top: 14.14%;
    width: 650px;
    z-index: 4;
    visibility: visible;
    }
    #BottomBox {
    background-color: #0f0000;
    height: 25px;
    left: 0px;
    position: absolute;
    bottom:0px;
    width: 650px;
    z-index: 6;
    visibility: visible;
    }


    and change this:


    <div id="MainBox">
    <div id="TopBox"></div>
    <div id="BottomBox"></div>
    </div>


    Quentin

  3. #3
    SitePoint Zealot MystaMax's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    158
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    hmmm i tried that and it put the black bars @ the top of the browser window and one @ the bottom... what did u want me to change about the div id ?

    i really do appreciate your help and quick response

    max

  4. #4
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Devon, UK
    Posts
    13
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    <div id="TopBox"></div>
    <div id="MainBox"></div>
    <div id="BottomBox"></div>

    ...here all three are in sequence


    and here top and bottom are inside main...

    <div id="MainBox">
    <div id="TopBox"></div>
    <div id="BottomBox"></div>
    </div>

  5. #5
    SitePoint Zealot MystaMax's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    158
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    i def dont understand what you're saying? can u be a little bit more specific? thanx

    max

  6. #6
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Devon, UK
    Posts
    13
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    What you had:

    <div id="TopBox"></div>
    <div id="MainBox"></div>
    <div id="BottomBox"></div>

    Each box is closed before the next is opened.


    What you should change it to:

    <div id="MainBox">
    <div id="TopBox"></div>
    <div id="BottomBox"></div>
    </div>

    Here the main box CONTAINS the top and bottom boxes, because it opens before them and closes after them.

    Copy and paste! (it works)


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •