SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Is it professional to crop?

Simple question. Im designing my photography site and I have enough pics to go into the layout process. Anyway, I had a quick question. Is it professional to crop your pics? Maybe if all the stuff in the pic isnt what you want to show people, should I crop it? I try not too. Ive seen a lot of photo sites that seem to have cropped there pics.

Any advice would be great.

Thanks in advance.
    "Truth is a pathless land." - J. Krishnamurti

I'm a cook. I knead dough. graphixkid's Avatar
    NH, USA . . . . . . . . Snowboarder: YES.
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    If you do a good job, cropping can look very professional. It is a good idea in many cases, such as when you take a picture, you may have unnessesary elements that you would want to crop.
    So yeah, basically it is a good thing to do.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I agree. It's okay to crop as long as it doesn't affect the overall composition of the photo. In some cases, cropping enhances the composition, drawing more attention to detail. So use your own keen eye and creativity.

There is no such thing as a bad photo these days. I think almost any photo can improve with tools that are readily available to us all.

I look forward to seeing your site. I love photography sites. They are the most creative imo.

gingham dress, army boots... silver trophy redux's Avatar
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    even in traditional darkroom work, you always tend to crop at least a little ammount of the photograph around the edges (ok, unless you're a complete purist)...so go ahead, it's no crime..
    re·dux (adj.): brought back; returned. used postpositively
    [latin : re-, re- + dux, leader; see duke.]
    WaSP Accessibility Task Force Member
    splintered.co.uk | photographia.co.uk | redux.deviantart.com

Mentioned