SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Installing php

  1. #1
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Charlotte, NC
    Posts
    8
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Installing php

    I installed php following sitepoint's tutorial http://www.sitepoint.com/article/228/2 but, when i bring up the page created in this tutorial, i get a http 500 error / server error. does any on know what i may have done wrong?

    Thanks in advance!

    Evan

  2. #2
    SitePoint Wizard siteguru's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    3,629
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    First things first ... http://www.enjoybeing.net/asp_eb/article.asp?ID=7

    Now you should see a more meaningful error message, to allow you to debug.
    Ian Anderson
    www.siteguru.co.uk

  3. #3
    Prolific Blogger silver trophy Technosailor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Before These Crowded Streets
    Posts
    9,446
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Which version of Apache are you using?
    Aaron Brazell
    Technosailor



  4. #4
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Charlotte, NC
    Posts
    8
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Sketch
    Which version of Apache are you using?
    I am running IIS on a XP PRO Machine.


    Quote Originally Posted by siteguru
    First things first ... http://www.enjoybeing.net/asp_eb/article.asp?ID=7

    Now you should see a more meaningful error message, to allow you to debug.

    Hey, Thanks... Now it says "The specified module could not be found."
    I'm sure I did everything in the tutorial mentioned above. But it still sounds like IIS cant find PHP. Any sugestions???

    Thanks in advance!

  5. #5
    SitePoint Wizard siteguru's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    3,629
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Have you mapped .php extension to php.exe or to php4isapi.dll? What happens if you run only this code? (Save it as, say, info.php) ...
    PHP Code:
    <?php phpinfo() ?>
    Ian Anderson
    www.siteguru.co.uk

  6. #6
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Charlotte, NC
    Posts
    8
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I did what they said to in the tutorial. Here is what they said about mapping php extensions:

    Quote Originally Posted by sitepoint
    Click the ISAPI Filters tab, and click Add.... In the Filter Name field, type PHP, and in the Executable field, browse for the file called php4isapi.dll in the sapi subfolder of your PHP folder (e.g. C:\PHP\sapi\php4isapi.dll). Click OK.

    Click the Home Directory tab, and click the Configuration... button. On the Mappings tab click Add. Again choose your php4isapi.dll file as the executable and type .php in the extension box (including the '.'). Leave everything else unchanged and click OK. If you want your Web server to treat other file extensions as PHP files (.php3, .php4, and .phtml are common
    So it should be mapped. I ran the code you put up and I still get 'The specified module could not be found.'

    Thanks again...

  7. #7
    SitePoint Wizard siteguru's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    3,629
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Sounds link your php.ini is not set correctly. Can you save it as php.txt and upload it somewhere for us to view?
    Ian Anderson
    www.siteguru.co.uk

  8. #8
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Charlotte, NC
    Posts
    8
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    here it is... check it out and let me know what you think...


    Thanks!

    Evan

    http://www.thedesignvault.com/php.txt

  9. #9
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Charlotte, NC
    Posts
    8
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Well,

    I reinstalled php and now im getting a diffrent message... Now I am getting the following message:

    "Logon failure: user account restriction. Possible reasons are blank passwords not allowed, logon hour restrictions, or a policy restriction has been enforced."

    I did the setup the same as before but this time i installed in onto the C:\ drive v/s the D:\ drive...

    Here is a link to the new php.ini file:

    http://www.thedesignvault.com/php.txt

  10. #10
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Charlotte, NC
    Posts
    8
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hey, I got it... Thanks for you help siteguru!!

  11. #11
    SitePoint Wizard siteguru's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    3,629
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    What was it that solved the problem? (Telling helps others having similar problems and who might find this thread).
    Ian Anderson
    www.siteguru.co.uk

  12. #12
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Charlotte, NC
    Posts
    8
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Well,

    I'm not sure what fixed the PHP problem... the two things I did differently when I reinstalled it was I installed it the computer's root directory, and I used the php.ini-recomended configuration file instead of the php.ini-dist file.

    About the login failure message, I had acidentaly changed the account that IIS used to logon so that the account did not have a password. This is where the problem was. IIS must have an account that has a password.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •