SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    SitePoint Member roreyf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    lafayette louisiana
    Posts
    18
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Angry problems with an animated mask

    here's the deal i have a movie clip of a horizontal line that i motion tweened to go up and down the side of the screen of the main movie, easy enough works great. then i decided that it would be nice if i put the title of the screen written
    v
    e
    r
    t
    i
    c
    a
    l
    l
    y
    and stationary under the begining of the line, again easy enough, then i decided to create a mask that would follow the motion tween of the line so i created a layer inbetween the line layer and the text layer, put a filed rectangle over the text and masked the layer. i motioned tweened the mask layer to ride just above the line has it goes up and down revealing the text each time it runs over it. now this movie clip works fine in the small window above the library but when i put it in the movie and test the scene or publish it all that shows up is the line moving up and down no text? what have i done wrong is there some way to fix it or do it that i am not aware of.

  2. #2
    SitePoint Evangelist azizur_rahman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    502
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Are your text colour different then the colour of the main stage? could see the text when not playing?
    Azizur Rahman
    Web Application Developer

  3. #3
    SitePoint Member roreyf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    lafayette louisiana
    Posts
    18
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    yes the text color is different than the main stage, in fact it does work in the symbol preview on the library window, but not when i test the symbol or the scene or movie.

  4. #4
    SitePoint Evangelist azizur_rahman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    502
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    1) check to see your object is not set to opacity of 0 in your action script.

    2) check any action script that you have on the main timeline.

    3) possibly when you put the symbol on stage the text goes out side the stage

    upload the file some where so we can see what wong.
    Azizur Rahman
    Web Application Developer

  5. #5
    SitePoint Enthusiast RelandR's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Sacramento, Ca.
    Posts
    61
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    did you double check that your text is not selected as "dynamic" ?

  6. #6
    SitePoint Member roreyf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    lafayette louisiana
    Posts
    18
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    no i sure did not, what should it be if not dynamic
    and where would i post the file so that others can see

  7. #7
    SitePoint Member roreyf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    lafayette louisiana
    Posts
    18
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    i checked the text and it is static, but i did change it to a graphic

  8. #8
    SitePoint Enthusiast RelandR's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Sacramento, Ca.
    Posts
    61
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Static text would be right....did that work ?
    If not - is your 'masked' layer:: modified>layers>Masked ???
    (your layer icons will tell if this is done right as they'll be different from the rest)

    to attatch a file use the advanced reply button and then hit the "manage attatchments" button within the reply window, browse to the file then click OK or open....Zip it First - (I don't see ".fla" as a valid attatchable extension)

  9. #9
    SitePoint Member roreyf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    lafayette louisiana
    Posts
    18
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Unhappy animated mask problem

    Here is the file the only thing on it is the movie clip of the animated mask i am having a problem with, if you can find a problem please let me know
    Attached Files Attached Files

  10. #10
    SitePoint Enthusiast RelandR's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Sacramento, Ca.
    Posts
    61
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    got it to work
    Attached Files Attached Files

  11. #11
    SitePoint Enthusiast RelandR's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Sacramento, Ca.
    Posts
    61
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    At first glance I thought it might be the mask not being animated within its' own clip (which is the preferred way)

    ... but it really boiled down to the text being a graphic (which doesn't make sense to me either) so I replaced it with just text on the main timeline.

    The "lineMC" and the "maskMC" are each independent.... you may want to sync their positions to each other better

    CheerZ ...<>R<>

  12. #12
    SitePoint Member roreyf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    lafayette louisiana
    Posts
    18
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thank you very much i appreciate it

  13. #13
    SitePoint Enthusiast RelandR's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Sacramento, Ca.
    Posts
    61
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    noProblemo =)


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •