SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Update row ???

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    SitePoint Addict ARSA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    San Juan, Puerto Rico
    Posts
    215
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Update row ???

    Im using this little code to update a row, but it doesnt seem to work?

    PHP Code:
    <?php
    ####################################################################
    ## Updating Item ###################################################
    ####################################################################

    if ($_POST['Submit'] == "Update")
       {
        
    $sql 'UPDATE `Inventory_A` SET `Item_Name` = \'$name\' WHERE `ID` = \'$id\' LIMIT 1 ; ';                                
        echo 
    "Item $name has been updated";   
       }

    ?>
    whats wrong with it?
    "I am enough of an artist to draw freely upon my imagination. Imagination is more important than knowledge. Knowledge is limited. Imagination encircles the world." - Albert Einstein

  2. #2
    if($awake){code();} PHP John's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Along the Wasatch Fault line.
    Posts
    1,771
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Try this:
    PHP Code:
    <?php 

    if ( $_POST['Submit'] == "Update" 
    {
      
    $name $_POST['name'];
      
    $id      $_GET['id'];

      
    $sql "UPDATE Inventory_A
                SET 
                  Item_Name = '
    $name'
                WHERE
                  ID = '
    $id'
                  "
    ;
      if( 
    mysql_query$sql ) )
        echo 
    "Item $name has been updated"

    ?>
    Last edited by PHP John; May 9, 2003 at 12:02. Reason: edited code
    John

  3. #3
    SitePoint Addict ARSA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    San Juan, Puerto Rico
    Posts
    215
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    nothing happen, but first let me give you more information about the little scrip ok...
    here goes:
    Code:
    The script works this way, first you select an item id from the page fix.php by clicling on a link.
    Then you are redirect to the page fix2.php, where using the $id you retrieve the information 
    from the database and the info is displayed in each input(text areas,drop down lists, etc...)
    Now, you can make the changes to the item by re-typing the changes in the inputs...
    at the bottom of the page, there is a Update button
    <input name="Update" type="Submit" id="Submit10" value="Update">
    The for is set as follow:
    <form action="fixed.php" method="post" name="fix_item" id="fix_item">
    
    So now when you press update button you go to fixed.php, where the little scrip i show before is set.
    
    but notting happens :(
    Please have a look http://www.bsinternationalstock.com/fix.php
    Ok, so now that you know how the script is set you can help me figure whats wrong.

    if need to see some code let me know ok
    "I am enough of an artist to draw freely upon my imagination. Imagination is more important than knowledge. Knowledge is limited. Imagination encircles the world." - Albert Einstein

  4. #4
    if($awake){code();} PHP John's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Along the Wasatch Fault line.
    Posts
    1,771
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You must get the $name and $id values from the posted and getted variables you are passing to the script.

    Otherwise, $name and $id, are null.

    See the edited code above.
    John

  5. #5
    SitePoint Addict ARSA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    San Juan, Puerto Rico
    Posts
    215
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    thanks I ended up with this code
    PHP Code:
    <?php
    ####################################################################
    ## Getting posted $Variables #######################################
    ####################################################################

        
    $name $_POST['ItemName'];
        
    $id $_POST['ID'];
        
    $submit $_POST['Update'];

    ####################################################################
    ## Updating the Item ###############################################
    ####################################################################

    if ( $submit == "Update" )
       {
        
    $sql "UPDATE Inventory_A SET Item_Name = '$name' WHERE ID = '$id'";
        if ( 
    mysql_query$sql ))
            echo 
    "Item $name has been succesfully updated.<br>";
       }

        echo 
    "$name<br>";
        echo 
    "$id<br>";
        echo 
    "$submit";

    ?>
    "I am enough of an artist to draw freely upon my imagination. Imagination is more important than knowledge. Knowledge is limited. Imagination encircles the world." - Albert Einstein

  6. #6
    if($awake){code();} PHP John's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Along the Wasatch Fault line.
    Posts
    1,771
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Just a note.

    If your ID field is of type INT or strictly numeric, remove the single quotes around the $id in your query.
    John

  7. #7
    SitePoint Addict ARSA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    San Juan, Puerto Rico
    Posts
    215
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    another question... how do i separete the differents variables ???

    PHP Code:
    <?php
    ####################################################################
    ## Getting posted $Variables #######################################
    ####################################################################

        
    $name $_POST['ItemName'];
        
    $id $_POST['ID'];
        
    $submit $_POST['Update'];

    ####################################################################
    ## Updating the Item ###############################################
    ####################################################################

    if ( $submit == "Update" )
       {
        
    $sql "UPDATE Inventory_A SET
     
    Item_Name = '
    $name ',
    SKU = '
    $sku ',
    Short_Description = '
    $short_description ',
    Product_Group = '
    $product_group ',
    Category = '
    $category ',
    Sub_Category = '
    $sub_category ',
    Product_Price = '
    $product_price ',
    Dealer_Price = '
    $dealer_price ',
    Quantity = '
    $quantity ',
    Small_Picture = '
    $small_picture ',
    Large_Picture = '
    $large_picture ',
    Detailed_Description = '
    $detailed_description ',
    Weight = '
    $weight ',
    Special = '
    $special ',
    Taxable = '
    $taxable ',
    View = '
    $view ',
    Add_To_Cart = '
    $add_to_cart ',
    spic_original_file = '
    $spic_original_file ',
    lpic_original_file = '
    $lpic_original_file ',
    spic_path = '
    $spic_path ',
    lpic_path = '
    $lpic_path ' 
         
        WHERE ID = 
    $id";
        if ( 
    mysql_query$sql ))
            echo 
    "Item $name has been succesfully updated.<br>";
       }

        echo 
    "$name<br>";
        echo 
    "$id<br>";
        echo 
    "$submit";

    ?>
    "I am enough of an artist to draw freely upon my imagination. Imagination is more important than knowledge. Knowledge is limited. Imagination encircles the world." - Albert Einstein

  8. #8
    if($awake){code();} PHP John's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Along the Wasatch Fault line.
    Posts
    1,771
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Alright, if you are fairly new to PHP things are going to look a little wierd:
    PHP Code:
    <?php 
    #################################################################### 
    ## Getting posted $Variables ####################################### 
    #################################################################### 
     
    //  I highly recommend that you change your form variables to the ones 
    //  listed in the $fieldArray below, or change the variables names in the 
    //  $fieldArray AND the query to the names that you have on your 
    //  form.  It helps keep things cleaner and there is less maintenance and 
    //  headache trying to figure out where a value changes variable names.
     
      
    $fieldArray = ( name,
                      
    id,
                      
    sku,
                      
    short_description,
                      
    product_group,
                      
    category,
                      
    sub_category,
                      
    product_price,
                      
    dealer_price,
                      
    quanitity,
                      
    small_picture,
                      
    large_picture,
                      
    detailed_description,
                      
    weight,
                      
    special,
                      
    taxable,
                      
    view,
                      
    add_to_cart,
                      
    spic_original_file,
                      
    lpic_original_file,
                      
    spic_path,
                      
    lpic_path,
                      
    Update );

    //  The foreach() loop tests each $_POST[] variable for a value and assigns
    //  it to its coresponding variable.
    //  if there is no value in the $_POST[] variable, then the coresponding 
    //  variable is set to "" (no value)
                      
      
    foreach( $fieldArray as $fieldValue )
      {
        $
    $fieldValue = isset( $_POST[$$fieldValue] ) ? $_POST[$$fieldValue] : '';
      }
     
    #################################################################### 
    ## Updating the Item ############################################### 
    #################################################################### 
     
    //  Any field that accepts a NUMERIC value only needs to have the 
    //  variable that it is being set to bare of single quotes.
    //  Just like you did with $id and the ID field
     
    if ( $submit == "Update" 

      
    $sql "UPDATE Inventory_A
              SET 
                Item_Name            = '
    $name', 
                SKU                  = '
    $sku', 
                Short_Description    = '
    $short_description', 
                Product_Group        = '
    $product_group', 
                Category             = '
    $category', 
                Sub_Category         = '
    $sub_category', 
                Product_Price        = '
    $product_price', 
                Dealer_Price         = '
    $dealer_price', 
                Quantity             = '
    $quantity', 
                Small_Picture        = '
    $small_picture', 
                Large_Picture        = '
    $large_picture', 
                Detailed_Description = '
    $detailed_description', 
                Weight               = '
    $weight', 
                Special              = '
    $special', 
                Taxable              = '
    $taxable', 
                View                 = '
    $view', 
                Add_To_Cart          = '
    $add_to_cart', 
                spic_original_file   = '
    $spic_original_file', 
                lpic_original_file   = '
    $lpic_original_file', 
                spic_path            = '
    $spic_path', 
                lpic_path            = '
    $lpic_path
              WHERE
                ID = 
    $id
                "

      if ( 
    mysql_query$sql )) 
          echo 
    "Item $name has been succesfully updated.<br>"

    echo 
    "$name<br>"
    echo 
    "$id<br>"
    echo 
    "$submit"
    ?>
    If you have any questions about this, let me know!
    John

  9. #9
    SitePoint Addict ARSA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    San Juan, Puerto Rico
    Posts
    215
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    well i ended up doing this...

    and it works, whats the different from yours and mine ???

    PHP Code:
    <?php
    ####################################################################
    ## Getting Posted $Variables #######################################
    ####################################################################

        
    $submit                 $_POST['Update'];
        
    $id                     $_POST['ID'];
        
    $name                   $_POST['ItemName'];
        
    $sku                    $_POST['SKU'];
        
    $short_description      $_POST['ShortDescription'];
        
    $product_group          $_POST['ProductGroup'];
        
    $category               $_POST['Category'];
        
    $sub_category           $_POST['SubCategory'];
        
    $product_price          $_POST['ProductPrice'];
        
    $dealer_price           $_POST['DealerPrice'];
        
    $quantity               $_POST['Quantity'];
        
    $small_picture          $_POST['Small'];
        
    $large_picture          $_POST['Large'];
        
    $detailed_description   $_POST['DetailedDescription'];
        
    $weight                 $_POST['Weight'];
        
    $special                $_POST['Special'];
        
    $taxable                $_POST['Taxable'];
        
    $view                   $_POST['View'];
        
    $add_to_cart            $_POST['Add'];
        
    $spic_original_file     $_POST['spic_original'];
        
    $lpic_original_file     $_POST['lpic_original'];
        
    $spic_path              $_POST['spic_file'];
        
    $lpic_path              $_POST['lpic_file']; 

    ####################################################################
    ## Updating The Item ###############################################
    ####################################################################

    if ( $submit == "Update" )
       {
        
    $sql "UPDATE Inventory_A SET

        Item_Name              = '
    $name', 
        SKU                    = '
    $sku', 
        Short_Description      = '
    $short_description', 
        Product_Group          = '
    $product_group', 
        Category               = '
    $category', 
        Sub_Category           = '
    $sub_category', 
        Product_Price          = '
    $product_price', 
        Dealer_Price           = '
    $dealer_price', 
        Quantity               = '
    $quantity', 
        Small_Picture          = '
    $small_picture', 
         Large_Picture          = '
    $large_picture', 
         Detailed_Description   = '
    $detailed_description', 
        Weight                 = '
    $weight', 
        Special                = '
    $special', 
        Taxable                = '
    $taxable', 
        View                   = '
    $view', 
        Add_To_Cart            = '
    $add_to_cart', 
        spic_original_file     = '
    $spic_original_file', 
        lpic_original_file     = '
    $lpic_original_file', 
        spic_path              = '
    $spic_path', 
        lpic_path              = '
    $lpic_path'      
        
        WHERE ID = '
    $id' ";
        
    if ( 
    mysql_query$sql ))
            
    $color ="GREEN";
            echo 
    "Item <FONT COLOR=$color><b>$name</b></FONT> has been successfully updated.<br><br>";

    }
    "I am enough of an artist to draw freely upon my imagination. Imagination is more important than knowledge. Knowledge is limited. Imagination encircles the world." - Albert Einstein

  10. #10
    if($awake){code();} PHP John's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Along the Wasatch Fault line.
    Posts
    1,771
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yours will take more maintenance, if you want to add or subtract something.

    You could also expand the code I posted to make it create your query.
    John


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •