SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    SitePoint Evangelist
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Posts
    407
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I was tired of having to change the menu on every page of my web site, so I started looking for a better solution and found SSI. (Sounds like an advertisement .

    Anyway I use the command <!--#include virtual="menu.htm"> but there is a problem. The command works and the menu is shown, but everything else on the page disappear. If I then remove the command, the menu is gone, but the rest of the page turns back to normal.

    I normally use Frontpage 2000 to create my site, but I know it often scr*ws up, so I edited the page with notepad and inserted the command, but the same problem occur.

    I don't know what I'm doing wrong. Can anyone help me?

    Thank you.

  2. #2
    AdSpeed.com Son Nguyen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Silicon Valley
    Posts
    2,241
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Again, the same problem as a thread in Scripting Forum, you haven't closed the tag properly. It should be like this:
    <!--#include virtual="menu.htm"--> (-- at the end, before >)
    - Son Nguyen
    AdSpeed.com - Ad Serving and Ad Management Made Easy

  3. #3
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Duluth, MN USA
    Posts
    166
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The ssi tag needs to end with -->. For example:
    Code:
    <!--#include virtual="menu.htm" -->
    notice the space between the final " and the -
    I hope this helps
    --Bill
    Lake Superior Smokin' Brews Make It Different: Brew Your Own!
    L'Etoile du Nord Web Development Providing Real Direction in a Virtual World
    MSN IM: smokinbrews-AT-hotmail-DOT-com
    Brewin', Vintin' & Smokin' Forums Moderator

  4. #4
    AdSpeed.com Son Nguyen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Silicon Valley
    Posts
    2,241
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Actually the space doesn't matter. I tried both before and worked fine.
    - Son Nguyen
    AdSpeed.com - Ad Serving and Ad Management Made Easy

  5. #5
    SitePoint Evangelist
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Posts
    407
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thank you both for the quick reply, it solved the problem

  6. #6
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Duluth, MN USA
    Posts
    166
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    123finder-
    I read somewhere that some (a few) servers need the space to read the command properly. The rest just ignore it.
    --Bill
    Lake Superior Smokin' Brews Make It Different: Brew Your Own!
    L'Etoile du Nord Web Development Providing Real Direction in a Virtual World
    MSN IM: smokinbrews-AT-hotmail-DOT-com
    Brewin', Vintin' & Smokin' Forums Moderator

  7. #7
    SitePoint Wizard creole's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Nashvegas Baby!
    Posts
    7,845
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    [reaches into pocket for two cents]

    Most servers don't *need* the space, but some do, plus it makes it easier to read.

    The same is true for standard HTML comment tags.

    [Edited by creole on 10-27-2000 at 12:20 PM]

  8. #8
    AdSpeed.com Son Nguyen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Silicon Valley
    Posts
    2,241
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Welcome on board, Dalixam!
    Come on here join us posting questions and answers!

    Yeah Bill, I could be the problem with the server. Anyway, just need to mess around for awhile
    - Son Nguyen
    AdSpeed.com - Ad Serving and Ad Management Made Easy


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •