SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Now with customized title Jump's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    The Restaurant at The End of The Universe
    Posts
    1,423
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Is this possible?

    When clicking in a link in one frame it opens a script in another frame using $_GET and url data. Is it possible to send that data to a third script in a third frame for a different use?

  2. #2
    if($awake){code();} PHP John's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Along the Wasatch Fault line.
    Posts
    1,771
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yes.
    John

  3. #3
    Now with customized title Jump's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    The Restaurant at The End of The Universe
    Posts
    1,423
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    heh, let me rephrase that. Is this possible and HOW?

  4. #4
    SitePoint Zealot amri's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    133
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yes, HOW?

  5. #5
    Now with customized title Jump's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    The Restaurant at The End of The Universe
    Posts
    1,423
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Anyone?

  6. #6
    if($awake){code();} PHP John's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Along the Wasatch Fault line.
    Posts
    1,771
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    All you would have to do is add the information you want to carry over to the URL. The same way you did it for the firat link. This is assuming, of course, that the information is not something that would create a compromise of security.

    http://www.yoursite.com/yourscript?v...ar2=val2...etc
    John

  7. #7
    Now with customized title Jump's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    The Restaurant at The End of The Universe
    Posts
    1,423
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Ok, I think you missunderstood. I want to click the first link and have page 2 and page 3 update simultaneously.

  8. #8
    ********* Genius Mike's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    5,458
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Using frames:

    Code:
    <FRAMESET cols="85%,15%">
         <FRAME SRC="zippy1.html" NAME="A"> This is frames[0]
    
         <FRAMESET rows="33%,33%,33%">
    
         <FRAME SRC="zippy2.html" NAME="B"> This is frames[1]
         <FRAME SRC="zippy3.html" NAME="C"> This is frames[2]
         <FRAME SRC="zippy4.html" NAME="D"> This is frames[3]
    
    </FRAMESET>
    </FRAMESET>
    Code:
    <FORM>
    <INPUT TYPE="button" Value="Change Three Frames at Once" 
    onClick="parent.frames[1].location='zippy5.html'; 
    parent.frames[2].location='zippy6.html'; 
    parent.frames[3].location='zippy7.html';">
    </FORM>
    Mike
    It's not who I am underneath, but what I do that defines me.

  9. #9
    Now with customized title Jump's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    The Restaurant at The End of The Universe
    Posts
    1,423
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Cool. So it can be done with a form only? I was hoping to do it with a link.

  10. #10
    if($awake){code();} PHP John's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Along the Wasatch Fault line.
    Posts
    1,771
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I believe you could use JavaScript to update each window without frames, as well... I'm not well versed in JavaScript, but I beleive it can be done.
    John

  11. #11
    ********* Genius Mike's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    5,458
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    <a href="" onclick="..."> just like how the form is.
    Mike
    It's not who I am underneath, but what I do that defines me.

  12. #12
    Now with customized title Jump's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    The Restaurant at The End of The Universe
    Posts
    1,423
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks. I'll have to play with this.

  13. #13
    Now with customized title Jump's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    The Restaurant at The End of The Universe
    Posts
    1,423
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Well, I found a javascript to do this and it seems to work great. It's an old script, not sure if that matters.

    PHP Code:
     <head>
    <
    SCRIPT LANGUAGE="JavaScript">
    <!-- 
    Begin
    function loadFrames(frame1,page1,frame2,page2,frame3,page3) {
    eval(
    "parent."+frame1+".location='"+page1+"'");
    eval(
    "parent."+frame2+".location='"+page2+"'");
    eval(
    "parent."+frame3+".location='"+page3+"'");
    }
    // End -->
    </script>
      <title> 
    PHP Code:
    <a href="javascript:loadFrames('makes', 'makes_tree_test.php?item=<?php echo $name_item?>', 'stuff.stuff1', 'stuff.php?item=<?php echo $name_item?>', 'stuff.stuff2', 'stuff2.php')"><font
          size="2"><?php echo $name_item?></font></a>
    I just wish I could have done it with PHP.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •