User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Problem with space between paragraphs

I've just started using CSS and am having problems controling the spacing between paragraphs.

Ours is a mostly text site with some paragraphs indented to indicate quotations (Scripture). I can use <br><br> to get extra space between paragraphs, but when I use </p> and <p> between paragraphs I get about 3 or 4 line spaces. It's too much! I want only 2 line spaces. I've tried re-setting the line-height either in P or in the classes, to no avail.

I'm very new at site design so ANY help is appreciated!

Thanks,
    Teresa

Former Staff Member silver trophy Adam P.'s Avatar
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Try setting the margin of the <p> tag to something different using CSS. Remember, you only need to the top or bottom - if you do both, they'll probably be to close.

So, it might look something like this:

p { margin-top: 10px; }

SPF Mentor/Advisor 2001-2003
    SPF Designer of the Year 2002
    SPF Graphic Designer of the Year 2003
    AdamPolselli.com

SitePoint Enthusiast
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks Adam!

I forgot to mention that I'd tried that, too. In fact, I just tried:

p {margin-top: .1pt; margin-bottom: .1pt}

It STILL puts in way too much space.

Teresa

The CSS Clinic is open silver trophybronze trophy
    Mentioned
    183 Post(s)
    Tagged
    6 Thread(s)
    It STILL puts in way too much space.
    You must be doing something wrong then. If you post some of your code (or provide a link) then we can see what you're doing wrong.

Paul

SitePoint Enthusiast
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks Paul!

The link is www.geocities.com/His_amazing_love/testhome.html

Teresa :-)

Mentioned
    183 Post(s)
    Tagged
    6 Thread(s)
    Hi Teresa,

You have a lot of work to do to sort that page out I'm afraid .