SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    15
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Installation Problems

    I'm trying to install Apache/PHP/MySQL onto my WinXP computer for development purposes. I did this last fall, but my computer had some nasty problems about 2 months ago and Windows was reinstalled, taking most of my settings. So, I'm trying to start over.

    It seems I have Apache and PHP running OK, but they are having problems with MySQL. I can run queries through an mysql> console prompt, but I can't seem to get PHP to connect with MySQL at all.

    One thing that I've thought of is that no documentation says that I should tell PHP4 where MySQL is located... it just says it is built in or whatever. Besides, it should be able to use port 3306 (or whatever the default is) to send requests. But, this is my error when I start phpMyAdmin's main page, and I'm pretty sure I set the small amount of phpMyAdmin settings correct.

    Please assist, and if you think any info I have over here is really going to help, please ask.

    Dan "da Man"
    Dan "da Man"
    Webmaster
    da-Man.com
    cMusicWeb.com

  2. #2
    Mlle. Ledoyen silver trophy seanf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    7,168
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Have you created a my.cnf (or my.ini) file?

    Sean
    Harry Potter

    -- You lived inside my world so softly
    -- Protected only by the kindness of your nature

  3. #3
    Non-Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    5,748
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I had this problem as well and an uninstallation - re-installation solved it right away - php4.2.3 + Win98 though the OS shouldn't make a damn bit of difference 8)

  4. #4
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    15
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Well, I still haven't figured it out. I've tried installing and reinstalling and have made sure everything related to the mySQL install is off before I go at it again. Here's my my.ini that was created by the winmysqladmin program:

    Code:
    #This File was made using the WinMySQLAdmin 1.4 Tool
    #5/10/2003 3:56:55 PM
    #Uncomment or Add only the keys that you know how works.
    #Read the MySQL Manual for instructions
    [mysqld]
    basedir=C:/mysql
    #bind-address=127.0.0.1
    datadir=C:/mysql/data
    #language=C:/mysql/share/your language directory
    #slow query log#=
    #tmpdir#=
    #port=3306
    #set-variable=key_buffer=16M
    [WinMySQLadmin]
    Server=C:/mysql/bin/mysqld-nt.exe
    user=cmusic
    password=********
    I'm not giving you my password, but I changed the user and password because then it reflects my cMusicWeb.com server, and so I don't have to change my code.

    Also, here's the part of the php.ini:
    Code:
    [MySQL]
    ; Allow or prevent persistent links.
    mysql.allow_persistent = On
    ; Maximum number of persistent links.  -1 means no limit.
    mysql.max_persistent = -1
    ; Maximum number of links (persistent + non-persistent).  -1 means no limit.
    mysql.max_links = -1
    ; Default port number for mysql_connect().  If unset, mysql_connect() will use
    ; the $MYSQL_TCP_PORT or the mysql-tcp entry in /etc/services or the
    ; compile-time value defined MYSQL_PORT (in that order).  Win32 will only look
    ; at MYSQL_PORT.
    mysql.default_port =
    ; Default socket name for local MySQL connects.  If empty, uses the built-in
    ; MySQL defaults.
    mysql.default_socket =
    ; Default host for mysql_connect() (doesn't apply in safe mode).
    mysql.default_host =
    ; Default user for mysql_connect() (doesn't apply in safe mode).
    mysql.default_user =
    ; Default password for mysql_connect() (doesn't apply in safe mode).
    ; Note that this is generally a *bad* idea to store passwords in this file.
    ; *Any* user with PHP access can run 'echo get_cfg_var("mysql.default_password")
    ; and reveal this password!  And of course, any users with read access to this
    ; file will be able to reveal the password as well.
    mysql.default_password =
    ; Maximum time (in secondes) for connect timeout. -1 means no limimt
    mysql.connect_timeout = -1
    ; Trace mode. When trace_mode is active (=On), warnings for table/index scans and
    ; SQL-Erros will be displayed.
    mysql.trace_mode = Off
    [mSQL]
    ; Allow or prevent persistent links.
    msql.allow_persistent = On
    ; Maximum number of persistent links.  -1 means no limit.
    msql.max_persistent = -1
    ; Maximum number of links (persistent+non persistent).  -1 means no limit.
    msql.max_links = -1
    If there's any other info that would be helpful, please do tell.

    Thanks,

    Dan
    Dan "da Man"
    Webmaster
    da-Man.com
    cMusicWeb.com

  5. #5
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    15
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Oh yeah, when I try to run phpMyAdmin, it gives me this error:

    Welcome to phpMyAdmin 2.5.0-rc2


    Error
    MySQL said:

    Access denied for user: 'cmusic@127.0.0.1' (Using password: YES)!!!
    The programs I authored myself don't give such descriptive errors.

    Hope that helps too.

    Dan "da Man"
    Dan "da Man"
    Webmaster
    da-Man.com
    cMusicWeb.com

  6. #6
    SitePoint Wizard samsm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Atlanta, GA, USA
    Posts
    5,011
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Sounds like you just don't have the right user/password combo established. Have you run mysqladmin yet to set up a root password yet?

    I like this article for setting MySQL permissions: http://www.devshed.com/Server_Side/M...ess/page3.html
    Using your unpaid time to add free content to SitePoint Pty Ltd's portfolio?

  7. #7
    Visible Ninja bronze trophy
    JeffWalden's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    1,709
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I am receiving a CGI error on IIS, anybody have this problem?
    TAKE A WALK OUTSIDE YOUR MIND.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •