SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Hybrid View

SitePoint Addict
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I have an Ultimate Bulletin Board that I launched in August. It has 600 users and about 8,750 posts so far. I was shocked today to receive an e-mail from my host, that I must either get the message board off the server in one week, or, if I upgrade to VBulletin, I can stay. I was told "The resources being eaten by the board are far too intensive for our servers, or for any shared server for
    that matter."

I think that switching servers would be a mess, and there would be too much of a risk loosing visitors/traffic. So, I would like to move ahead with the VBulletin conversion (ouch! $160 I do not want to spend!!!)

I have no experience with VBulletin. I know it uses php. I have no experience with that either. Does it matter? Also, keeping in mind that I want to import all existing posts into VBulletin, am I going to be in too deep considering my only experience is installing cgi scripts and completing available hacks? Should I get assistance with the install and importation, or forge ahead on my own?

Dumb PHP codin' cat
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Well, the only problem is that vbulletin uses a MySQL backend and ubb uses test files to store data. I think you are probably going to have a hell of a time converting everything over. Good Luck!
    Please don't PM me with questions.
    Use the forums, that is what they are here for.

SitePoint Addict
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Didn't Sitepoint make the UBB to VBulletin switch while preserving posts?

Dumb PHP codin' cat
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Oh maybe they did, I will have to take a look, I would be interested in seeing that since I have an old ubb laying around and I would like to convert, I just thought it would be too big a pain in my a**!
    Please don't PM me with questions.