SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Unhappy Designer, wanna be coder. Some advise please!

Hi all:
    I am currently a designer with little php knowledge and I wanted to learn how to code. Upon getting into php, a little bird in here told me that php was good but for serious coding get into cold fusion. So I start my mission on to Barnes & Noble to go look aroung and my head is spinning from the languages that are available. I knew there quite a few out but sheeeeeeeeesh. So now what. What is a good web app. coding lang. that I should go. I have always liked php but again this little bird, who must own MM stock, tells me how easier it is with CF being that I use all MM products anyway.

help, I am confused....

P_M
    Regards,

P

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    cold fusion is often refered to as the "designers language", but anyway

I would suggest you learn PHP, at least learn the basics anyway and see if you're ready to move on from there

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    wow, really. I never heard that one, and I am on the up and up with critizing MM.

thanks I will hone my skills in php i guess
    Regards,

P

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Well it's down to what you like really, but PHP has a similar syntax to javascript, java and other C derived langauges... which can be useful if you chop and change.

cf on the otherhand is more like html tags, you'll also need to find a host that suppports cf

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Here's a recent thread about Coldfusion. Read it and I think you'll see that Cold Fusion has more power than you might expect.
    Using your unpaid time to add free content to SitePoint Pty Ltd's portfolio?

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    WOW! That post was more than enough information that I needed. Thanks guys for everything.

PM
    Regards,

P