SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    I'm baaaaaaaaaaaaack! Fluffykins's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Manchester, UK
    Posts
    1,046
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Howdy pardners,

    (I've been watching old westerns, can you tell?)

    Today I saw a terms and conditions box on Everyone.Net (you know, the ones you have to agree to) that used Arial as a font when it displayed the text. Most other text boxes i've seen (multilined ones that is) use Courier by default.

    Is there some code that you can use to make the text users type into a multi-line text box appear in a different font? I'm getting it'll be done with style sheets.

    Cheers

    Ady
    v-technologies - Freelance Goodness.

  2. #2
    Your Lord and Master, Foamy gold trophy Hierophant's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    Lancaster, Ca. USA
    Posts
    12,305
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You would use something similar to:
    Code:
    DIV.inputbox INPUT {
      border-color : #258A59;
      border-style : solid;
      background : #9DB59E;
      color : #000000;
      font-weight : Bold;
    }
    Then in your HTML you would use the DIV tag with the appropriate class around your elements. This only works with IE. I have only tested it with IE 5+.
    Wayne Luke
    ------------


  3. #3
    I'm baaaaaaaaaaaaack! Fluffykins's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Manchester, UK
    Posts
    1,046
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thankin' ye.

    I'll have a fiddle with that and see what I can come up with.

    Ady
    v-technologies - Freelance Goodness.

  4. #4
    Freelance Web Designer KeithMcL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    Dublin, Ireland
    Posts
    1,125
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I'm pretty sure a similar effect can be done using dHTML but was unable to find anything about it at http://www.dynamicdrive.com or http://www.bratta.com

    If you do find a site with it, just view the source and see how it's done.

  5. #5
    Your Lord and Master, Foamy gold trophy Hierophant's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    Lancaster, Ca. USA
    Posts
    12,305
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by KeithMcL
    I'm pretty sure a similar effect can be done using dHTML but was unable to find anything about it at http://www.dynamicdrive.com or http://www.bratta.com

    If you do find a site with it, just view the source and see how it's done.
    All DHTML is not a "technology" but a Marketing Slogan. All it is a mixture of HTML, CSS and Javascript on a single page. So in effect your correct since this page will have two out of three components and most likely all three if there is any form validation going on.
    Wayne Luke
    ------------


  6. #6
    SitePoint Enthusiast Andysan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    pudsey - leeds - westy-england
    Posts
    89
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    are you using flash? you can specify to include fonts or set to default, so you can choose what size and font for each form box.

    andysan
    Andysan :-)
    "do not despise the snake for having no horns for who is to say it will not become a wise dragon"

  7. #7
    I'm baaaaaaaaaaaaack! Fluffykins's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Manchester, UK
    Posts
    1,046
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Flash is a bit extreme for a license agreement

    Ady
    v-technologies - Freelance Goodness.

  8. #8
    SitePoint Wizard creole's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Nashvegas Baby!
    Posts
    7,845
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Here is an inline style that would be more effective for you since you are only using it once.

    <select name="groups" style="font-size: 9; font-family: arial; width=100">
    <option selected>Cell Group...</option>
    <option value="1">Wright</option>
    <option value="2">Matthews</option>
    </select>THis example is for a drop down menu, but the principle is the same. simpley snip out the:

    style="font-size: 9; font-family: arial;"

    and paste it into the input tag.

    It works in NS 4.75 for the PC at least....
    Adobe Certified Coldfusion MX 7 Developer
    Adobe Certified Advanced Coldfusion MX Developer
    My Blog (new) | My Family | My Freelance | My Recipes


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •