SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    155
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Question Looking for a new Windows host

    Hi all,

    For reasons I won't go into I'm currently looking at getting a new website host.
    My budget is around 10 a month for Windows Hosting since current projects and future developments are going to involve ASP and ASP.Net, MYSQL etc, I require a set of included MYSQL databases if possible (my current host charges around 25 per annum for each database!) and ideally I'm looking for unlimited bandwidth and unlimited webspace.

    I've come across a few deals on various sites which offer a few MYSQL databases within the price which is ideal, as well as unlimited bandwidth and webspace but I have the following predicament....

    My main question is how I go about hosting multiple sites so that I have files and folders related to each? In the past I have had to store my folders under one domain and then point another domain to that folder if I want to separate projects, but the folder path isn't masked so that it appears to be under the new domain.

    For example, I could have the folder mrbloggs under my main domain www.shoxt3r.com. However, when I have registered the domain www.joebloggs.co.uk with my current package I have no option but to point it to www.shoxt3r.com/joebloggs instead of having www.joebloggs.co.uk/joebloggs. So, when a user types in "www.joebloggs.co.uk" it gets redirected to www.shoxt3r.com/joebloggs. How do I get around this without having to have separate hosting packages for each project? I'm sorry if this isn't explained very well or it is just a "noobish" question but I'm not quite sure how else to put it!

    Thanks for the help guys! Ideally I'm looking to upgrade in the next few days as renewal time is looming so sooner the better!

    Cheers,

    Shoxt3r

  2. #2
    . shoooo... silver trophy logic_earth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    9,013
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Windows Azure Web sites? http://www.windowsazure.com/en-us/pr...ils/web-sites/

    Can use MySQL or MS SQL or both. Azure sites also work form a single storage pool thus no need for masking.
    Logic without the fatal effects.
    All code snippets are licensed under WTFPL.


  3. #3
    Certified Ethical Hacker silver trophybronze trophy dklynn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    14,672
    Mentioned
    19 Post(s)
    Tagged
    3 Thread(s)
    shox,

    When you add an "AddOn" domain, it does go to a subdirectory of the master account BUT you can address the subdirectory/subdomain in its own right. The following are synonymous:

    http://example.com/subdirectory
    http://subdirectory.example.com
    http://subdirectory.com

    If you don't want the main domain to "capture" your subdirectory links, simply use some mod_rewrite code to force the URL to change to whichever version you want visitors to see (the last one listed above, I believe).

    Regards,

    DK
    David K. Lynn - Data Koncepts is a long-time WebHostingBuzz (US/UK)
    Client and (unpaid) WHB Ambassador
    mod_rewrite Tutorial Article (setup, config, test & write
    mod_rewrite regex w/sample code) and Code Generator

  4. #4
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    155
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by dklynn View Post
    shox,

    When you add an "AddOn" domain, it does go to a subdirectory of the master account BUT you can address the subdirectory/subdomain in its own right. The following are synonymous:

    http://example.com/subdirectory
    http://subdirectory.example.com
    http://subdirectory.com

    If you don't want the main domain to "capture" your subdirectory links, simply use some mod_rewrite code to force the URL to change to whichever version you want visitors to see (the last one listed above, I believe).

    Regards,

    DK
    Cool! Thanks for clarifying dklynn! Do you know which hosts are more flexible with using mod_rewrite code as I have had problems in the past with hosts not allowing this modification?

  5. #5
    . shoooo... silver trophy logic_earth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    9,013
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You won't have mod_rewite, you will need the equivalent for IIS. That can vary depending on the version, IIS 6 and below, lots of third-parties out there. IIS 7 and above: http://www.iis.net/downloads/microsoft/url-rewrite

    Getting a Windows Server running 2008+ and IIS 7+ is ideal.
    Logic without the fatal effects.
    All code snippets are licensed under WTFPL.


  6. #6
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    155
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Ah I see. So really my only option if I want to configure domains is to go down the server-space route? Hmm 10 a month for Windows server hosting this doesn't seem very possible at the moment The alternative being to make new accounts for each project....

  7. #7
    . shoooo... silver trophy logic_earth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    9,013
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    $10/month for any hosting is bottom of the barrel. Optimistic stuff. But the Windows Azure Websites is around $15/m depending on what you use. With the ability to run 10+ individual sites (aka., domains).
    Logic without the fatal effects.
    All code snippets are licensed under WTFPL.


  8. #8
    SitePoint Member LiquidwebBret's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Lansing Michigan
    Posts
    4
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I see you're using MySQL. The only reason you'd be tied to Windows servers is the ASP.net
    When I see people on Windows servers they are usually using MS-SQL with ASP and perhaps IIS.

    The only reason I ask is that if you could change from using ASP.net you could move into linux. Which has a much lower overhead.
    However if you are locked into using ASP.net then going with Azure would be your safest choice by far.

  9. #9
    SitePoint Addict Poiesis01's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Cape Town
    Posts
    233
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Check out lunarpages.com if you're using up to .Net 4.0. I'm not sure if they support 4.5. I had a good windows hosting experience with them and they include MS SQL and MYSQL in their price.

  10. #10
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    155
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Cool! Thanks for all the suggestions guys. Decided to go with 1&1 since they offer 2 MYSQL databases with 4.99 a month hosting with 50GB storage and Unlimited Bandwidth

  11. #11
    SitePoint Member LiquidwebBret's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Lansing Michigan
    Posts
    4
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Excellent. Please let us know how it goes. Learning customer experience is huge on these things and great for others in your boat.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •