SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 10 of 10

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    London UK
    Posts
    11
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Notepad to Dreamweaver

    When i hand code a webpage in Notepad++ and then open it in Dreamweaver the layout is all over the place but when i look in the browser it looks normal
    why is this and how can i correct it Thank you

  2. #2
    Barefoot on the Moon! silver trophy Force Flow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Northeastern USA
    Posts
    4,615
    Mentioned
    56 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    That's just one of the many problems with Dreamweaver. I would encourage you not to use it.

    For testing, I would recommend IE with Debugbar, and Firefox/Chrome with the Web Developer plugin and firebug extensions.
    Visit The Blog | Follow On Twitter
    301tool 1.1.5 - URL redirector & shortener (PHP/MySQL)
    Can be hosted on and utilize your own domain

  3. #3
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    1,921
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Because Dreamweaver is not a browser.
    Because older versions of Dreamweaver can't handle floats and modern css3.
    Because Dreamweaver is NOT a tool for accessing your layout!!!
    Because you are using an older version of Dreamweaver perhaps. (Even DW in CS5 fails to display some of my pages correctly!)
    Because you may have javascript that isn't running in Dreamweaver (see first point).

    And it just does not matter at all how Dreamweaver displays your page.

  4. #4
    SitePoint Addict bronze trophy
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Oneonta, NY
    Posts
    307
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Nicky,

    No matter what software you use to create text and other characters, each program assigns its own information to the data so that when you copy and paste it into another program, there is always the potential for things to be lost in translation. For example copying and pasting text with embedded links from a word document into a wordpress editor causes links to break. Copying and pasting text from the web into a word document doesn’t always show up as intended.

    You should stick with editing in whatever program you started in and avoid copying and pasting things from one program to another.

    Best,

    Shawn

  5. #5
    Barefoot on the Moon! silver trophy Force Flow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Northeastern USA
    Posts
    4,615
    Mentioned
    56 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by smanaher View Post
    No matter what software you use to create text and other characters, each program assigns its own information to the data so that when you copy and paste it into another program, there is always the potential for things to be lost in translation. For example copying and pasting text with embedded links from a word document into a wordpress editor causes links to break. Copying and pasting text from the web into a word document doesn’t always show up as intended.

    You should stick with editing in whatever program you started in and avoid copying and pasting things from one program to another.
    While this might be true for word processors, this really has nothing to do with nicky8694's question...
    Visit The Blog | Follow On Twitter
    301tool 1.1.5 - URL redirector & shortener (PHP/MySQL)
    Can be hosted on and utilize your own domain

  6. #6
    SitePoint Addict bronze trophy
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Oneonta, NY
    Posts
    307
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Force Flow View Post
    While this might be true for word processors, this really has nothing to do with nicky8694's question...
    Nicky asked why it was happening. I think my explanation (although I used other programs as examples) was pretty clearly related to her question. Notepad++ assigns information to the characters it produces just the same as Dreamweaver does and both programs interpret that data differently when its copied from other software. The OP also asked what they could do to fix it and I suggested that they not copy and paste from one program to another.

  7. #7
    Barefoot on the Moon! silver trophy Force Flow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Northeastern USA
    Posts
    4,615
    Mentioned
    56 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by smanaher View Post
    Nicky asked why it was happening. I think my explanation (although I used other programs as examples) was pretty clearly related to her question. Notepad++ assigns information to the characters it produces just the same as Dreamweaver does and both programs interpret that data differently when its copied from other software. The OP also asked what they could do to fix it and I suggested that they not copy and paste from one program to another.
    Dreamweaver's WYSIWYG integrated browser is the problem, not the copying and pasting of formatted code. It's a browser rendering issue--no amount of copying and pasting is going to solve the issue. The integrated browser is some sub-par quirks mode engine and as Dr John mentioned simply doesn't understand what to do with float layouts and newer CSS3 techniques.
    Visit The Blog | Follow On Twitter
    301tool 1.1.5 - URL redirector & shortener (PHP/MySQL)
    Can be hosted on and utilize your own domain

  8. #8
    SitePoint Zealot Siick26's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    England
    Posts
    113
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Stick with Dreamweaver for the design only, i used to use Dreamweaver all the time for my sites but then i just got sick of how messy everything is with the coding. Vim is a good text editor, try that.

  9. #9
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Palawan Philippine, But I am not a philippino
    Posts
    16
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Siick26 View Post
    Stick with Dreamweaver for the design only,
    Agree for that .

    As my little experiences in Dreamweaver, Dreamweaver itself has some tricky steps to follow .
    I crated my web in Dreamweaver and it show not correctly position also.

    What you may try is check all code, It may help .

    It may be due to some miss places of some codes.


    Anyway after I finish code in Dreamweaver I use 3 Web browser ( IE, Chrome and Fire fox ) to check .
    And I use CSE HTML Validator to recheck for final.

  10. #10
    SitePoint Wizard webcosmo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    1,480
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    This happens to me also, and it`s because Dreamweaver has some issues and is misplacing the code, throwing blank lines and spaces all over the place. I normally fix that manually , inside DW, then it will look ok everytime you open that file.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •