SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    runat="server" Golgotha's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    2,085
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Is there a way to fix this?

    view this page http://www.jpma.com/posdesigner.html in IE and notice the links along the left. They look fine.

    But now view it in Nutscrape or Opera and the links background color matches the length of the text. Can this be fixed?

    I'm thinking it can't be, but maybe somebody here knows something I don't.

    The links effect is done with CSS.

  2. #2
    Sidewalking anode's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Philadelphia, US
    Posts
    2,205
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Try moving class="btn" from the anchors to the <td>'s.
    TuitionFree a free library for the self-taught
    Anode Says... Blogging For Your Pleasure

  3. #3
    Prolific Blogger silver trophy Technosailor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Before These Crowded Streets
    Posts
    9,446
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I would put a class on the <td> and make the background color changes there. I'm shooting from the hip as I don't have access to Netscape or Opera here at work.

    *Edit: doh! Anode beat me to it
    Aaron Brazell
    Technosailor



  4. #4
    runat="server" Golgotha's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    2,085
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    don't think that will work because a <td> dosen't have a hover event.

  5. #5
    Sidewalking anode's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Philadelphia, US
    Posts
    2,205
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Sure it does, IE may not support it though.

    Try JavaScript.
    TuitionFree a free library for the self-taught
    Anode Says... Blogging For Your Pleasure

  6. #6
    Prolific Blogger silver trophy Technosailor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Before These Crowded Streets
    Posts
    9,446
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    what about a javascript change style function? Forgive me I don't know js, but I know this can be done. Hover on the link and it changes the class or the properites of the named element (which would be the cell provided you named the cell).
    Aaron Brazell
    Technosailor



  7. #7
    runat="server" Golgotha's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    2,085
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    hahaha, IE doesn't support it. Man can't we all just get along. The point was to stay JavaScript free

  8. #8
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    386
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    have a look at this link
    take some ideas and get something which will work on ie and moz, without js
    http://www.sovavsiti.cz/css/w3c_buttons.html

  9. #9
    SitePoint Guru bronze trophy blufive's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Manchester, UK
    Posts
    853
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Random stab in the dark, no guarantees: Try putting display: block on the <a> tags


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •