SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: phpMyAdmin help

  1. #1
    SitePoint Zealot Oznob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    161
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    phpMyAdmin help

    For some reason - I can no longer view the overview of my database (i.e. the main page in phpMyAdmin showing all the tables).

    I can see all the tables in the left hand frame and can pull up any of them in the main frame - but when I click on the database name I no longer see the list of all the tables with the little checkboxes beside them.

    version 2.3.3 used

    --- Could it because I all of a sudden have too many tables in my database ? (I have 1322 now).

    --- How can this be fixed easily

    Thanks in advance,
    Oznob

  2. #2
    if($awake){code();} PHP John's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Along the Wasatch Fault line.
    Posts
    1,771
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Let me get this clear... you have 1322 TABLES in ONE database?
    John

  3. #3
    SitePoint Zealot Oznob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    161
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    yup - (i.e. a couple differernt forums and nuke sites in one database).

    is this a problem?

  4. #4
    if($awake){code();} PHP John's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Along the Wasatch Fault line.
    Posts
    1,771
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    This from the manual:
    5.4.8 Drawbacks to Creating Large Numbers of Tables in the Same Database


    If you have many files in a directory, open, close, and create operations will be slow. If you execute SELECT statements on many different tables, there will be a little overhead when the table cache is full, because for every table that has to be opened, another must be closed. You can reduce this overhead by making the table cache larger.

    --

    I don't know how you have the whole thing organized, but it seems to me be fairly unwieldy, and could be a real headache to maintain. However, my experience with large databases is limited, and I am curious myself, to read what someone with more experience with mySQL databases has to say about it.
    John

  5. #5
    SitePoint Zealot Oznob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    161
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Because most of the application on this database are things like nuke sites, bulletin boards, etc. I have just set up different prefixes for the tables related to each site.

    I too now am curious if this is a bad thing to do.

    But most importantly - if someone could answer my first question - how I fix it to show that homepage in phpMyAdmin (or wont it work because of the large number of tables).

    Oznob

  6. #6
    Non-Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    5,748
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    LoL...

    Sorry but over one thousand tables ? Come again ? I think you'd be better off putting at least some of those tables into seperate databases....

  7. #7
    pie??? PIE!!!! rsdl's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Vancouver, BC Canada
    Posts
    502
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thousand tables..whoa...how'd that happen? PHPNuke, bulletin boards...etc installs their tables in seperate databases. odd...odd indeed. yea, you better divide your tables into seperate databases or else it's going to be murder on your server.

    -rsdl

  8. #8
    SitePoint Zealot Oznob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    161
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    But my question is...could the number of tables be affecting the fact that the phpMyAdmin page does not show

    I think I get the hint about too many tables in my database (which up til now has not caused me any sort of problems .

  9. #9
    if($awake){code();} PHP John's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Along the Wasatch Fault line.
    Posts
    1,771
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It could. Do you remember if you had added a table or more just before it stopped showing them?
    John


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •