Hi everyone.

A client of mine forwarded me this email they sent her about her website. We both have suspicions that it's a scam to trick us into registering an unnecessary domain with them, but googling yielded no results with the wording of their letter (usually with scams, you'd find them popping up everywhere). So I thought I'd run it past you guys first, get some feedback, before just telling her to ignore the email.

Attention to:

(My client's correct name.)
(My client's correct email address.)

(My client's correct phone number.)

Requested reply date: 5/4/2013 EST

This is an important notice to inform you that we have put a temporary block on www.my-clients-website.mobi
There has been a request from the IP address 35.18.307.43 to register this domain. If you did not authorize this, contact support immediately at info@mobiregistrations.com with your case number MB481870.

If you have no interest in this name, no action is required on your part. After 48 hours, this block will be released and Mobi Registrations is not responsible for domain loss due to 3rd party registration.

Go to www.MobiRegistrations.com to search the status of all your domains, including all domains registered worldwide.

If you have any questions regarding Mobi Registrations's policies, you can visit www.mobiregistrations.com/policy
To view the updated domain expiration, dispute resolution policy, please visit www.mobiregistrations.com/domaindisputes
Have any of you gotten an email like this?

For one thing, the IP address "35.18.307.43" isn't real.

And have any of you even heard of "Mobi Registrations" before?

Thanks in advance for your feedback.