SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Posts
    6
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Is it possible? I have set up my site to use an SSI menu. Now I want to have my products in a database and get their info with PHP. But since a PHP file must have a .phtml extansion and an SSI file an .shtml extension how do I do it?

    If the file has one of those extensions, will the server only parse the HTML for that extensions commands?

    Thanks
    Matthew

  2. #2
    Freelance Web Designer KeithMcL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    Dublin, Ireland
    Posts
    1,125
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    PHP has it's own include function. You can include any type of file usin PHPs include function.

    Example.

    <html><head><title>Page Title</title></head>
    <body>
    <?php
    include("path/to/file/filename.filetype");
    ?>
    </body>
    </html>

    For more on PHPs include function visit http://www.php.net/manual/html/function.include.html

    Hope this helps

  3. #3
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Posts
    6
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks I'll try that.

    At the moment I am running Windows 2000 Pro and running the IIS so I can check things locally on localhost before I update. Any ideas how to implement PHP on my machine?

  4. #4
    Freelance Web Designer KeithMcL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    Dublin, Ireland
    Posts
    1,125
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    To implement PHP on your machine check out http://www.hotscripts.com/PHP/Script...allation_Kits/

    rgds,

  5. #5
    Kat's Meow Senior ******* WebKat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Location
    California USA
    Posts
    1,071
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    ~ Matthew ~ Just moved your post from Web Page Design -- you may find more interaction regarding your question about SSI/PHP in the 'Server Side Scripting' Forum...
    Dlynn :: SitePoint Senior Advisor ::
    PawPrint Designs by WebKat
    "Dogs come when they're called; Cats take a message and get back to you later." ~ Mary Bly

  6. #6
    AdSpeed.com Son Nguyen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Silicon Valley
    Posts
    2,241
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Or you could use .htaccess to let html/htm being parsed.
    And with a SSI call to php, just use #include virtual
    - Son Nguyen
    AdSpeed.com - Ad Serving and Ad Management Made Easy


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •