SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    14
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    How to tell who's hosting a website?

    I'm working with a client who just left another designer. We are having problems getting access to control the website. We managed to get FTP access. However, i need to create and edit databases. Usually the host provides some sort of admin panel like cPanel, Plesk, web host manager, etc. The other designer says there is no control panel if you need something installed on the server let me know. The site uses WordPress; so i know there is a database. The site is registered through GoDaddy and the IP address points to secureserver.net. My feeling is that the previous designer is afraid to give access to the backend. Perhaps he is concerned he will totally lose the account and is trying to maintain some sort of control over it. Maybe the account is tied to other accounts and giving me access to one will give me access to all. Whatever the reason, i know there is a database and i need access to it. What i'd like to do is figure out what server software he's using or where it hosted (my guess is GoDaddy). knowing this i can say to the client, the site is hosted at blah blah blah and this is all he has to do to give me the access i need to move forward. Any ideas?

  2. #2
    SitePoint Mentor silver trophy
    Rubble's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Cambridge, England
    Posts
    2,398
    Mentioned
    81 Post(s)
    Tagged
    3 Thread(s)
    You can try this site: Who is hosting this

    If the other designer is being a pian I hope your cliant has the domain name in their control.

  3. #3
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    14
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks. It points to GoDaddy. However, if they are using a GoDaddy's Privacy Service; would it not point to GoDaddy anyway?

  4. #4
    SitePoint Mentor silver trophy
    Rubble's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Cambridge, England
    Posts
    2,398
    Mentioned
    81 Post(s)
    Tagged
    3 Thread(s)
    Doing a search for secureserver.net it looks like it is tied in with godaddy.

  5. #5
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    14
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    ah yes... thanks again, Rubble!

    Whois.sc did not release full registrant info. Therefore, i thought they had privacy registration on it. But searching GoDaddy's who is provided their full company and server information. Thanks again. This will help in showing that an admin panel of some sort exists.

  6. #6
    Certified Ethical Hacker silver trophybronze trophy dklynn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    14,653
    Mentioned
    19 Post(s)
    Tagged
    3 Thread(s)
    Get the website's IP address and look for the "root" IP address for that block. That should lead you to the host.

    Regards,

    DK
    David K. Lynn - Data Koncepts is a long-time WebHostingBuzz (US/UK)
    Client and (unpaid) WHB Ambassador
    mod_rewrite Tutorial Article (setup, config, test & write
    mod_rewrite regex w/sample code) and Code Generator

  7. #7
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    8
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    If its wordpress site, ask previous designer to create a new user with some access and give access to you so that you can modify website and he can keep control.

  8. #8
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Menchester
    Posts
    5
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    How will I know about the technology used for website with hosting provider name?

  9. #9
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Cape Town, South Africa
    Posts
    40
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I usually just do a whois and then if not much info there do a tracert to the website. Can also try doing a ssh or rdp to the server and see if it shows the computer name


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •