SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 21 of 21
  1. #1
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    11
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    web site crashing

    Hi, My name is john and new to this forum so hi to all.

    I am no web designer but recently created my own website for my electrical business that I run.

    I have run into a problem which I am scratching my head at and ready to throw the machine through the window. I have written all the code and uploaded it to our web hosting company. All was working fine but every now and again you can not access our website I have contacted the hosting company and they say there is nothing wrong their side. I have taken off Google tracking code in case that was causing problems but to no avail. Does anyone have any ideas ?

    I have started my index page with this

    <!DOCTYPE html>
    <html lang="en">

    <head>
    <title>Bradtech Electrical and security Services</title>
    <meta charset="utf-8"/>
    <link href="style1.css" rel="stylesheet" type="text/css"/>
    </head>

    <body>

  2. #2
    Life is not a malfunction gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy
    TechnoBear's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Argyll, Scotland
    Posts
    5,383
    Mentioned
    218 Post(s)
    Tagged
    5 Thread(s)
    Hi John, and welcome to the forums.

    I presume you've tried using different machines and internet connections to access your site, to rule out any problems at your end?

    Can you give us a link to the site, so we can take a look for ourselves?
    Don't be arrogant. Be kind to a koala that thinks it's a bear.

  3. #3
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    11
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Yes tried loads of machines internet connection works fine to other sites, just not mine.

    web address is www.bradtechgroup.co.uk

    some links are missing on some pages as I am trying so many things to rectify this problem.

    Funny sometimes loads sometimes does not .

  4. #4
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    85
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The links pages from "Electrical" onwards direct the "Home" to "Original index.html" when they should direct to "index.html". Maybe that's the problem you're seeing?

    Have you considered using a simple PHP 'include' statement for your navigation? It would eliminate errors like these and make changes to your navigation easier.

  5. #5
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    11
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    I know the links are not right at the moment they were before and I was still having problems, they are wrong at the moment due to the fact I have been playing with it so much .

    php ? I will look into this whatever it is ...thanks

  6. #6
    Life is not a malfunction gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy
    TechnoBear's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Argyll, Scotland
    Posts
    5,383
    Mentioned
    218 Post(s)
    Tagged
    5 Thread(s)
    I tried your site about an hour ago, and it loaded immediately. I tried it again just now, and it loaded eventually. You might want to take a look at this thread, which discusses a similar problem.

    PHP is a red herring here. I'm not saying don't learn it - it's very useful, even if only for includes, as zot suggested, but it won't solve this problem. If this is the only sight you're ever likely to build, then you can live quite happily without PHP.
    Don't be arrogant. Be kind to a koala that thinks it's a bear.

  7. #7
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    11
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    thanks for your input. it is the only web site I am going to build and I will check out the other thread. I have removed all pages except for the index page and I am still having issues. Thanks though

  8. #8
    Life is not a malfunction gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy
    TechnoBear's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Argyll, Scotland
    Posts
    5,383
    Mentioned
    218 Post(s)
    Tagged
    5 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by bradley756 View Post
    I have removed all pages except for the index page and I am still having issues.
    Yes - I don't think the internal links have anything to do with this.
    Don't be arrogant. Be kind to a koala that thinks it's a bear.

  9. #9
    SitePoint Mentor bronze trophy
    John_Betong's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    City of Angels
    Posts
    1,580
    Mentioned
    63 Post(s)
    Tagged
    3 Thread(s)
    I managed to see your page and copied the source (by mouse->right-clicking and selecting 'view source')

    Check out this page:

    http://www.johns-jokes.com/downloads...bradtechgroup/


    then save the source to "www.bradtechgroup.co.uk/testing.htm"

    All the links have the %20 space removed and all are in lowercase.

    Apache Servers are NOT forgiving if the case is incorrect

  10. #10
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    11
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    oh, will check that on local machine it has 20% in spaces. When you say its in lowercase, should all links be in upper ? if so me messed up. thanks

  11. #11
    Robert Wellock silver trophybronze trophy xhtmlcoder's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    A Maze of Twisty Little Passages
    Posts
    6,316
    Mentioned
    60 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Apache web servers are generally set to use case sensitive URL and files so: Index.htm differs to index.htm as does INDEX.htm they'd be treated as 3 'different files' so ensure your files match the Case Sensitivity of your hyperlinks and file names, etc. Usally it makes sense to use all lower-case so it's easier to remember.

    Since space characters are not allowed in URLs, you have to encode them usually for the white space in a filename; %20 would be used, e.g. for a file with a space called: 'some file.htm' <a href="some%20file.htm>XYZ</a> is an appropriate encoding.

  12. #12
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    11
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    OK thanks I checked the white spaces and they are filled with %20 and I will make sure all links match with case sensitivity. I have just tried a simple web page with no links see if that works

  13. #13
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    11
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Unhappy

    tried simple web page with only the following in the body <p>testing</p> worked one minute gone the next

  14. #14
    SitePoint Wizard webcosmo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    1,436
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by bradley756 View Post
    tried simple web page with only the following in the body <p>testing</p> worked one minute gone the next
    Then it`s a problem related to your server, i`m sure. You might check with the hosting company then, it`s not normal to work only sometimes. Maybe your hosting was performing maintenance ?

  15. #15
    SitePoint Mentor bronze trophy
    John_Betong's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    City of Angels
    Posts
    1,580
    Mentioned
    63 Post(s)
    Tagged
    3 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by bradley756 View Post
    tried simple web page with only the following in the body <p>testing</p> worked one minute gone the next
    As mentioned in my previous post, the following link script is working on my server:

    http://www.johns-jokes.com/downloads...bradtechgroup/

    Start with a page that works and keep checking back to ensure your server is working OK.

    Copy and paste the following script to a new text.html page:
    HTML Code:
    <!DOCTYPE html>
    <html lang="en">
    
    <head>
    <title>Bradtech Electrical and security Services</title>
    <meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=utf-8">
    <link href="style1.css" rel="stylesheet" type="text/css"/>
    </head>
    
    <body>
    <header>
      <h1>Bradtech Group</h1>
    </header>
    <nav>
      <ul id="nav">
        <li><a href="index.html">Home</a></li>
        <li><a href="aboutus.html">About Us</a></li>
        <li><a href="ourservices.html">Our Services</a></li>
        <li><a href="electrical.html">Electrical</a></li>
        <li><a href="alarms.html">Alarms</a></li>
        <li><a href="cctv.html">CCTV</a></li>
        <li><a href="outsidelighting.html">Outside Lighting</a></li>
        <li><a href="pricing.html">Pricing</a></li>
        <li><a href="downloads.html">Downloads</a></li>
        <li><a href="contactus.html">Contact Us</a></li>
      </ul> 
    </nav>
    
    <p  style='text-align:center'>
      <img 
        src="images/main.jpg" 
        style='width:700px; height:292px'
        alt="main image of electrical items"
      />
    </p>  
    
    
    <p>We are a professional and reliable company located in Kinoulton, Nottinghamshire.   We provide a range of 
       electrical and security services for Nottingham and surrounding areas.</p>
    <p>We have been established for more than 18 years and we endeavour to provide a quality service.</p>
    <p>Feel free to view our services page for a comprehensive list of all the work 
       that we undertake.  If you can not find what you are looking for please <a href="contactus.html"
       >contact us.</a></p>
    <p>If you would like to be kept up to date with news and special offers, please check our facebook page.</p>
    
    
    <div id='footer' style='margin:2em 0; text-align:center; padding:1em'>
      <h1>Footer Stuff goes here</h1>
    </div>  
    
    
    <!-- DEBUG STUFF IGNORE AND DO NOT COPY -->
        <div style='padding:1em; margin:0 auto; background-color:#cdffff; border:solid 1px #090'>
            <a href='http://validator.w3.org/check?uri=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.johns-jokes.com%2Fdownloads%2Fsp-b%2Fbradtechgroup%2Findex.html'>
              http://validator.w3.org/Validator Service
            </a>
            <br />
            <a href="http://jigsaw.w3.org/css-validator/check/referer">
              <img style="border:0;width:88px;height:31px; margin:1em auto 0"
                   src="http://jigsaw.w3.org/css-validator/images/vcss-blue"
                   alt="Valid CSS!" />
              </a>
        </div>   
    
    </body>
    </html>
    Last edited by John_Betong; Apr 22, 2013 at 12:09. Reason: formatting

  16. #16
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    11
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Thanks guys for all of your help. Tried web hosting company again, waiting for response......not very happy with them at the moment.

  17. #17
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    1,921
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    who is you web host?

    Site worked instantly for me a few minutes ago.

  18. #18
    SitePoint Mentor bronze trophy
    John_Betong's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    City of Angels
    Posts
    1,580
    Mentioned
    63 Post(s)
    Tagged
    3 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Dr John View Post
    who is you web host?

    Site worked instantly for me a few minutes ago.
    Yes it works fine for me as well, all the links are also working. The only problem I could see was the link in the header which is inconsequential, does not affect the site operation so do not expect the OP to return.

    @bradley756 ; Post #7

    thanks for your input. it is the only web site I am going to build and I will check out the other thread. I have removed all pages except for the index page and I am still having issues. Thanks though

  19. #19
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    11
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Hi guys, web hosting company moved me to another server, which did sort out the problem I hope. Just got to tidy it up a little and make sure all the pages go through validator ok.

    Thanks to everyone that helped .

  20. #20
    Life is not a malfunction gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy
    TechnoBear's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Argyll, Scotland
    Posts
    5,383
    Mentioned
    218 Post(s)
    Tagged
    5 Thread(s)
    That's great. Glad you got it sorted out, and thanks for coming back to let us know.
    Don't be arrogant. Be kind to a koala that thinks it's a bear.

  21. #21
    SitePoint Mentor bronze trophy
    John_Betong's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    City of Angels
    Posts
    1,580
    Mentioned
    63 Post(s)
    Tagged
    3 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by bradley756 View Post
    Hi guys, web hosting company moved me to another server, which did sort out the problem I hope. Just got to tidy it up a little and make sure all the pages go through validator ok.

    Thanks to everyone that helped .
    Glad you managed to sort out your site and especially for the feedback solution.

    Please feel free to post any further problems or even to assist other members.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •