SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Thread: Graphics

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Lightbulb Graphics

So here's my question: I develop e-commerce apps and am lovin' php/mysql. But graphics (beyond simple stuff) as eluded me. Its the abstract thing. I've got a subscription to Computer Arts Magazine (love the content) and it does help. But can creativity be trained?(y'know 'graphic artist classes' that you see some schools offer).
    thoughts gang?
    Erik

chown linux:users\ /world Hartmann's Avatar
    Mentioned
    11 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I am in the exact same boat you are... I am a programmer with very little graphic design experience although I read through tutorials and try to figure everything out as best as I can. I think that you slowly pick up on certain things... You may not be trained in them but I certainly think that when you sit down and you try to figure out how to make a graphic look a certain way that technique sticks with you. I also think though that a lot of the graphic artists on this board grew up enjoying things like drawing, painting, etc. so they have a one up on people like you and me. Who knows though, I say take a shot at it, it can't hurt.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I pretty much sucked at graphics and know how to program well... I took a good Saturday morning back in the day and learnt Photoshop. I played around with it and it was amazing what I could come up with. The layer styles really did aid in my creations, however, i prefer to make non-bevel presentations with just simple colors as it seems the main design range is getting at now.

SitePoint Wizard silver trophy TheOriginalH's Avatar
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    <opinion>
    Classically "trained" graphic artists will claim till they're blue in the face that only proper "training" will do (well, they would, wouldn't they?).