SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 26 to 33 of 33
  1. #26
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    california
    Posts
    5
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Sorry for the double reply- it's been a VERY long day.
    I'm working in Mac OS X 3.3 and simply don't understand how I got connected or how to connect again tomorrow. Thanks, thanks, thanks I just created my first database!!!

  2. #27
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Lisbon
    Posts
    5
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Kevin Yank
    Do a select * from mysql.user and see what user entries the table contains. Anything?
    Yeah. I got this table.
    Thankz
    Attached Files Attached Files

  3. #28
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    2
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I have the same issue too could Kevin explain what to do from here do i delete the users? And start a fresh?
    Instead of the ip address of the linux machine i have the name of it but other than that i have 4 users like antonio.

  4. #29
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    2
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Oh and happy birthday on Monday man from dublin

  5. #30
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by LMRonan
    Kevin, I've been trying to get this going all day!!! This last comment did indeed promt me for a password which I was able to use and connect. THANK YOU. But now my question is what do I do from here. Is this the way to log on everytime? I'm incredibly confused....
    When I try this and try to login via phpmyadmin, I get an error
    Warning: mysql_result(): Unable to jump to row 0 on MySQL result index 12 in c:\program files\apache group\apache\htdocs\phpmyadmin\libraries\common.lib.php on line 572

    Any ideas what this problem is?

  6. #31
    SitePoint Author Kevin Yank's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    2,571
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    LMRonan,

    Yes, every time you want to log in and directly issue commands from the command prompt, that's the way to log in.

    Antonio,

    From your 'user' table, it looks like a password has been set for one of the two "root" users, but not for the other. I recommend you read the "MySQL Access Control" section in Chapter 8 of my book (in particular the "Access Control Tips" portion) for help in this area.

    jmc,

    It's not entirely clear what you're trying to do. You should make sure you're able to access MySQL from the command prompt before you attempt to configure phpMyAdmin.
    Kevin Yank
    CTO, sitepoint.com
    I wrote: Simply JavaScript | BYO PHP/MySQL | Tech Times | Editize
    Baby’s got back—a hard back, that is: The Ultimate CSS Reference

  7. #32
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    us of a
    Posts
    10
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Not tested but should work.
    If you forget the 'root' password or having trouble changing root password then try going to the 'C:\mysql\data\' directory and delete 'mysql' directory from it. Download the .zip version of mysql file and unzip it to a temporary directory and then find the ..\data\mysql directory...copy it to 'c:\mysql\data\' directory.

    This should set your root password to nothing.

    I use mysqlFront too and it does the job. Noticed one gotcha long ago that when you copy and paste table using mysqlfront, it fails to copy/add 'autoincrement' in new tables field defination. Hope they fixed it

    This can also let you break into mysql database...hmm.
    You can use similar concept on linux or mac's..above method is for windows.

    Again, I haven't tested it but it might work.

    - slamdunkinpoolJAMyahooDOTcom ( remove 'JAM' )

  8. #33
    SitePoint Wizard guelphdad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    St. Catharines, ON Canada
    Posts
    1,708
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    OR you could spend Wayyy less time on something that does work as opposed to soemthing that might work.

    Check the docs here for Windows or any other system here:

    http://dev.mysql.com/doc/mysql/en/Re...rmissions.html


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •