SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: PHP Rollovers

  1. #1
    SitePoint Member GFOBassHunter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Northeast Ohio
    Posts
    11
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Question PHP Rollovers

    Hi All,
    I've wanted to update my site's navigation, and just about had decided on what to do when I started reading some info here about Javascript not being so search engine friendly.

    I was going to put in a menu called Coolmenus, which is Javascript driven. It does what I want it to do - dynamic rollover menu links with mouseover link animation/changes.

    However, I don't want to lose any search engine 'friendliness' for lack of a better term.

    Is there a was to generate a dynamic drop down menu such as the example here while using strictly php?

    If so, how would I go about this?

    Thanks in advance for all the help,
    Erich

  2. #2
    o_O O_o BlueFire2k5's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Sioux Falls, SD
    Posts
    475
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    No, I don't think you can because of PHP being server-side programming and that needing a client-side programming language to work.
    "Sa souvraya niende misain ye."
    - Robert Jordan, The Wheel of Time

  3. #3
    SitePoint Wizard silver trophy someonewhois's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    6,364
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It's browser side, PHP is server side - PHP can't do this.

    Like you said, dynamic drop down menu.. DHTML

  4. #4
    + platinum's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Adelaide, Australia
    Posts
    6,441
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You're still going to need to use some kind of client side language like javascript or DHTML. Once php generated pages leave the server, they are finished, nothing can be added/changed without refreshing the page.

    But I don't see how a js menu could be missed by search engines if you find one that degrades nicely into a "normal" menu.

  5. #5
    SitePoint Member GFOBassHunter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Northeast Ohio
    Posts
    11
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by platinum
    But I don't see how a js menu could be missed by search engines if you find one that degrades nicely into a "normal" menu.
    I have been reading hear that Javascript is not search engine friendly, and want to put every available advantage in my favor. Is this true about JS?

    OK, I gather that this is NOT possible with strictly PHP. Would JS be the ONLY was to generate such a menu as described in my first post?

    If so, I'd like the general consensus of the folks at SitePoint whether this is a worthwhile feature, or should I stay strictly to text-based links and simple navigation?

    Thanks again,
    Erich

  6. #6
    Sidewalking anode's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Philadelphia, US
    Posts
    2,205
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You can take some inpiration from the css/edge Pure CSS Flyout menus technique.
    TuitionFree a free library for the self-taught
    Anode Says... Blogging For Your Pleasure

  7. #7
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    6
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You could make an image and slice it for rollovers using Fireworks. They have a pretty cool "menu maker" built in.

  8. #8
    SitePoint Member GFOBassHunter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Northeast Ohio
    Posts
    11
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi All,
    I want the flexibility of a single php menu 'module' (for lack of a better term), and I have the current navigation working on all browsers - except I'm having some complaints from WebTV users.

    Is there ANY way of doing this without javascript?

    This will give you an idea of what I have done...
    http://www.gofishohio.com

    Is there any way to make this setup WebTV friendly, or am I better off to re-vamp the menu bar into a simpler, no rollover deal?

    Thanks in advance,
    Erich


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •