SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    SitePoint Wizard bronze trophy PicnicTutorials's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Carlsbad, California, United States
    Posts
    3,658
    Mentioned
    15 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Wamp - Forbidden You don't have permission to access on this server

    All of a sudden I can't access my local sites via Wamp. So I just did a fresh install thinking that would fix it. NOPE. I did everything suggested in the first few threads on Google. Can anyone help with this?

  2. #2
    Hosting Team Leader silver trophybronze trophy
    cpradio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    5,220
    Mentioned
    153 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Can you provide any detail from the logs or anything else that may help us diagnose the problem? Did you do any recent configuration changes?

  3. #3
    From space with love silver trophy
    SpacePhoenix's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Poole, UK
    Posts
    5,068
    Mentioned
    103 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    127.0.0.1 localhost
    #::1 localhost
    Have a look at your HOSTS file, you should see two lines like the above. WAMP doesn't seem to like it when both are enabled so comment out the ::1 with a # if it's not already commented out. Depending on what version of windows you're running you might need to run notepad as an administrator
    Community Team Advisor
    Forum Guidelines: Posting FAQ Signatures FAQ Self Promotion FAQ
    Help the Mods: What's Fluff? Report Fluff/Spam to a Moderator

  4. #4
    SitePoint Wizard bronze trophy PicnicTutorials's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Carlsbad, California, United States
    Posts
    3,658
    Mentioned
    15 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by SpacePhoenix View Post
    Have a look at your HOSTS file, you should see two lines like the above. WAMP doesn't seem to like it when both are enabled so comment out the ::1 with a # if it's not already commented out. Depending on what version of windows you're running you might need to run notepad as an administrator
    Tanks bro! Is that the one located C:\WINDOWS\system32\drivers\etc\hosts? If so mine currently looks like

    127.0.0.1 localhost
    127.0.0.1 my-virtual-site1
    127.0.0.1 my-virtual-site2

    That's follow this 3 step process http://www.websitecodetutorials.com/...rtual-host.php

    The local host works but the virtual ones stopped all of a sudden. Which tells me its something with my computer and not wamp. Cuz I didn't change anything in wamp. So it's just the virtual ones that don't work I guess then.

  5. #5
    From space with love silver trophy
    SpacePhoenix's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Poole, UK
    Posts
    5,068
    Mentioned
    103 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Were any changes made to your firewall software around the time the virtual ones stopped working?
    Community Team Advisor
    Forum Guidelines: Posting FAQ Signatures FAQ Self Promotion FAQ
    Help the Mods: What's Fluff? Report Fluff/Spam to a Moderator

  6. #6
    SitePoint Wizard bronze trophy PicnicTutorials's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Carlsbad, California, United States
    Posts
    3,658
    Mentioned
    15 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    no - np changes made by me on my computer. That i know of. Is there a error report I can spit out?

  7. #7
    Hosting Team Leader silver trophybronze trophy
    cpradio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    5,220
    Mentioned
    153 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Check your apache error logs, maybe it is still getting the request, but apache is declining it?

  8. #8
    SitePoint Enthusiast vincewicks's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Brooklyn, NYC
    Posts
    39
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I just had the same problem. It turns out that my windows is using the IPv6 address ::1 instead of 127.0.0.1. To solve this, I opened httpd.conf and changed the following line:

    Allow from 127.0.0.1

    to:

    Allow from 127.0.0.1 ::1
    This site is the go-to place for web designs.

  9. #9
    SitePoint Wizard bronze trophy PicnicTutorials's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Carlsbad, California, United States
    Posts
    3,658
    Mentioned
    15 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by vincewicks View Post
    I just had the same problem. It turns out that my windows is using the IPv6 address ::1 instead of 127.0.0.1. To solve this, I opened httpd.conf and changed the following line:

    Allow from 127.0.0.1

    to:

    Allow from 127.0.0.1 ::1
    I'll give that a try thanks!

  10. #10
    Certified Ethical Hacker silver trophybronze trophy dklynn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    14,672
    Mentioned
    19 Post(s)
    Tagged
    3 Thread(s)
    Others,

    IF you install into the Windows protected directories (like (Program Files) or into Users/{any}), it'll be Windows which is stopping the access. This is easily avoided by NOT installing into the Windows protected directories.

    I don't understand how, if installed with localhost and 127.0.0.1, WAMP would suddenly be using IP6. During installation, be sure you get the server addresses correct!

    Regards,

    DK
    David K. Lynn - Data Koncepts is a long-time WebHostingBuzz (US/UK)
    Client and (unpaid) WHB Ambassador
    mod_rewrite Tutorial Article (setup, config, test & write
    mod_rewrite regex w/sample code) and Code Generator


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •