SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    SitePoint Zealot str8acer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    160
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    How do they do that????????

    Does anyone know how www.msn.com did there flash thing at the top left of their web page today April 3, 2003???????

  2. #2
    pie??? PIE!!!! rsdl's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Vancouver, BC Canada
    Posts
    502
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    i'm guessing the flash table is layered via css (e.g. z-index) and then i'm guessing the background of the flash is transparent. i stress that i'm simply guessing here though


    -rsdl

  3. #3
    ...
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    759
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Do you mean the way the Flash movie animates into the page?

  4. #4
    SitePoint Wizard creole's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Nashvegas Baby!
    Posts
    7,845
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    If it appeared that the Flash movie was covering the whole screen then yes, that's how they do that. Note that effect only works in Internet Explorer. It might also work in some of the newer browsers from other companies but it does not work in Netscape 4.7 (in case you were wondeirng).
    Adobe Certified Coldfusion MX 7 Developer
    Adobe Certified Advanced Coldfusion MX Developer
    My Blog (new) | My Family | My Freelance | My Recipes

  5. #5
    SitePoint Zealot str8acer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    160
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Chas
    Do you mean the way the Flash movie animates into the page?

    Yeah that's what I mean.

    Does anyone know exactly where I need to go to learn how they do that??

  6. #6
    SitePoint Zealot webQS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Sydney : Australia
    Posts
    144
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    G'day
    You can put the flash movie in a div container and set it's level (stacking order) with CSS. Because the div sits above the rest of the content it can be set to any width possible given the client screen res
    Other containers holding html content can sit below it.... oblivious to the floating content.

    Transparency is the key to this as well - and is not browser based... since Flash Player 6r61, wmode="transparent" is supported by MacOS X and Mozilla/Opera browsers on Win32.
    Forget NN4 - it doesn't figure any more - just too clunky (and IE4!).

    So FP 5 for IE/win32 and Fp6,0,61,0 for everything else.

    Of course getting MSN to deploy content for browsers other than IE may be a problem
    read: the infamous swedish chef "Bork" edition of Opera 7 that highlighted MSN stupidity by barring Opera.
    http://www.opera.com/pressreleases/e...2/14/index.dml

    Cheers
    James

    Quote Originally Posted by str8acer
    Yeah that's what I mean.

    Does anyone know exactly where I need to go to learn how they do that??

  7. #7
    ...
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    759
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    As James pointed out there using the wmode="transparent" - this is why you can view the HTML text / images underneath.

    Its worth noting the attribute wmode="transparent" is not an officially listed Object or Embed tag attribute by Macromedia in there Tech Notes:

    http://www.macromedia.com/support/fl...attributes.htm

    As it can cause IE to crash.

    Source:

    http://www.macromedia.com/support/fl...0_ie_crash.htm

  8. #8
    SitePoint Zealot webQS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Sydney : Australia
    Posts
    144
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    That's interesting - there seems to be a double standard in the offline and online content regarding tag attributes. (wmode)

    My Flash 3 manual even states "WMODE... lets you take advantage of the ..absolute positioning and layering capabilities of Internet Explorer 4". (The Flash MX manual says exactly the same thing - obviously not updated for 5, 5.5 or 6.)

    Flash MX was published after that technote was written..

    I run w2k and never have that prob, maybe because it's a rare tag attr and I use Mozilla.

    cheers
    James

    Quote Originally Posted by Chas
    As it can cause IE to crash.

    Source:

    http://www.macromedia.com/support/fl...0_ie_crash.htm

  9. #9
    SitePoint Zealot str8acer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    160
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by webQS
    That's interesting - there seems to be a double standard in the offline and online content regarding tag attributes. (wmode)

    My Flash 3 manual even states "WMODE... lets you take advantage of the ..absolute positioning and layering capabilities of Internet Explorer 4". (The Flash MX manual says exactly the same thing - obviously not updated for 5, 5.5 or 6.)

    Flash MX was published after that technote was written..

    I run w2k and never have that prob, maybe because it's a rare tag attr and I use Mozilla.

    cheers
    James
    Man i'm not at that level yet where I know exactly what you guys are talking about, but i was hoping if someone could direct me to the proper place so that I can take a step by step tutorial(s) that will lead me up to your level. I'm looking but not finding. Can any1 recommend a book/anything for me to buy/donwload so that i can learn more please.

    Thanks


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •