SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    1
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Exclamation Dropdown menu in Php

    The drop down menu appears, but is blank, and has no options.

    PHP Code:
        <?php
        session_start
    ();
        
    //if the session data has been set, then the variable $sv_02 is defined 
        //as the data held in the session under that name, otherwise it is blank
        
    if (isset($_SESSION['sv_02'])) {$sv_02=$_SESSION['sv_02'];} else {$sv_02="";}

        
    //define the array
        
    $dm_sv_02 = array('-Year','-2012','-2011','-2010','-2009');

        
    //create the function 
        
    function dropdown($dropdownoptions$session_data
        { 
        foreach(
    $dropdownoptions as $dropdownoption){
               if(
    $session_data == $dropdownoption){
                echo 
    '<option value="' $dropdownoption '" selected>' $dropdownoption '</option>';
               } else {
                echo 
    '<option value="' $dropdownoption '">' $dropdownoption '</option>';
               }
              }

        }
        
    //echo the HTML needed to create a drop down, and populate it with 
        //the function which should create the <option> elements
        
    echo '<select name="sv_02">';
        
    dropdown($dm_sv_02$sv_02);
        echo 
    '</select>';
        
    ?>
    <snip />
    Last edited by cpradio; Apr 11, 2013 at 05:15. Reason: Please wait 90 days for a real signature

  2. #2
    SitePoint Evangelist captainccs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Caracas, Venezuela
    Posts
    516
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I tested your code and it works fine for me. It outputs (I added line breaks for readability):
    HTML Code:
    <select name="sv_02">
    <option value="-Year">-Year</option>
    <option value="-2012">-2012</option>
    <option value="-2011">-2011</option>
    <option value="-2010">-2010</option>
    <option value="-2009">-2009</option>
    </select>
    Denny Schlesinger
    web services

  3. #3
    SitePoint Wizard siteguru's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    3,631
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Works fine for me.

    Alternative (taking the echo out of the function):

    PHP Code:
    <?php
    session_start
    ();
    //if the session data has been set, then the variable $sv_02 is defined 
    //as the data held in the session under that name, otherwise it is blank
    if (isset($_SESSION['sv_02'])) {$sv_02=$_SESSION['sv_02'];} else {$sv_02="";}

    //define the array
    $dm_sv_02 = array('-Year','-2012','-2011','-2010','-2009');

    //create the function function 
    dropdown($dropdownoptions$session_data)
    {
         
    $str='';
        foreach(
    $dropdownoptions as $dropdownoption){
            if(
    $session_data == $dropdownoption){
                
    $str .= '<option value="' $dropdownoption '" selected>' $dropdownoption '</option>';
            } else {
                
    $str .= '<option value="' $dropdownoption '">' $dropdownoption '</option>';
            }
            
    $str .= "\n";
        }
        return 
    $str;
    }

    //echo the HTML needed to create a drop down, and populate it with 
    //the function which should create the <option> elements
    ?>

    <form>
    <select name="sv_02">
    <?php
    echo dropdown($dm_sv_02$sv_02);
    ?>
    </select>
    </form>
    But ... is this really just a SPAM post? Otherwise why have you included a link in your post?
    Ian Anderson
    www.siteguru.co.uk

  4. #4
    Hosting Team Leader silver trophybronze trophy
    cpradio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    5,234
    Mentioned
    154 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Off Topic:

    Quote Originally Posted by siteguru View Post
    But ... is this really just a SPAM post? Otherwise why have you included a link in your post?
    Taken care of, in the future, please feel free to use the Report button (red flag) on the offending post.

  5. #5
    SitePoint Wizard siteguru's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    3,631
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Off Topic:

    I didn't want to waste moderator time unnecessarily by reporting, so I was giving the OP the benefit of the doubt by asking first.
    Ian Anderson
    www.siteguru.co.uk


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •