SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    SitePoint Wizard jag5311's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Somewhere in Indiana
    Posts
    3,082
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Group layers?? in Photoshop

    I have about 6 small images that I want to be able to group so I can move them all together and apply filters that will affect them all. I cannot figure out how to get all of them at the same time. There are about 6 different layers right now.

    Any help would be appreciated.

    Thanks
    Bryan

  2. #2
    SitePoint Wizard Ian Glass's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Beyond yonder
    Posts
    2,384
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I think only PS7 lets you "group" layers like in a hierarchy (I'm probably wrong on that--only have 5).

    But you can link them together in earlier versions, too, by clicking the box next to the "eye" in the layers pallet. The layer that you're working on will have a paintbrush there, and layers that're linked to it will have a little chain-link type icon. They'll drag around together and any transformations you do on one linked layer happens to all of them.

    Is that clear? I could probably be better stated. :-)

    EDIT: there's an attachment that'll hopefully be clearer in the queue.

    ~~Ian
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by Ian Glass; Apr 1, 2003 at 19:26.

  3. #3
    Sidewalking anode's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Philadelphia, US
    Posts
    2,205
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    AFAIK, filters don't affect all linked layers. You may have to merge a copy of them together for that.
    TuitionFree a free library for the self-taught
    Anode Says... Blogging For Your Pleasure

  4. #4
    SitePoint Enthusiast mynics's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Saigon, Vietnam & Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    89
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Well what you can do instead of merging them together, is apply all the desired filters to one layer first. Then right click on that layer, choose Copy Layer Style and then Paste Layer Style on every other layer you wish to have the same effect on.

    Hope that helps.... good luck!
    Asianca.com - Please join our online Asian community
    TorontoGunViolence.com - Speak up against the violence!

  5. #5
    Sidewalking anode's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Philadelphia, US
    Posts
    2,205
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Filters != Layer Effects
    TuitionFree a free library for the self-taught
    Anode Says... Blogging For Your Pleasure

  6. #6
    SitePoint Zealot Maher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Somewhere Close..
    Posts
    109
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Thumbs up Solution...

    Simple!

    At the bottom of the last layer of the layer set taht you have..

    1. Create a new layer.

    2. Creat a new fill or adjustment layer:

    (click on the half empty circled icon on the bottom) or (from the menu: Layer> New Fill Layer or Layer> New Adjustment Layer).

    Now, any effect you add or filter it will (Affect All Above Layers) and will leave them (Intacted) at the same time!

    Good Luck!



    Quote Originally Posted by jag5311
    I have about 6 small images that I want to be able to group so I can move them all together and apply filters that will affect them all. I cannot figure out how to get all of them at the same time. There are about 6 different layers right now.

    Any help would be appreciated.

    Thanks
    Bryan

  7. #7
    SitePoint Wizard jag5311's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Somewhere in Indiana
    Posts
    3,082
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Maher
    Simple!

    At the bottom of the last layer of the layer set taht you have..

    1. Create a new layer.

    2. Creat a new fill or adjustment layer:

    (click on the half empty circled icon on the bottom) or (from the menu: Layer> New Fill Layer or Layer> New Adjustment Layer).

    Now, any effect you add or filter it will (Affect All Above Layers) and will leave them (Intacted) at the same time!

    Good Luck!
    Thanks alot. I will give it a look.

  8. #8
    SitePoint Wizard creole's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Nashvegas Baby!
    Posts
    7,845
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    A simple way to group layers would be to drop them all into a layer set. That way you can open the layer set when you need to interact with one of the layers and close it when you're done.
    Adobe Certified Coldfusion MX 7 Developer
    Adobe Certified Advanced Coldfusion MX Developer
    My Blog (new) | My Family | My Freelance | My Recipes


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •