SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Serial Publisher silver trophy aspen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    East Lansing, MI USA
    Posts
    12,937
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I just got win2k workstation. What would be the easiest web server to run off it? Is it even possible to run IIS on workstation? Or would I be limited to PWS or could I also feasibly install apache?

    Chris

  2. #2
    Serial Publisher silver trophy aspen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    East Lansing, MI USA
    Posts
    12,937
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    huh... I think it comes preinstalled with IIS

  3. #3
    Irritability Defined
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    80,000 feet below the surface
    Posts
    1,442
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Technically you could run IIS with Workstation, but it's probably not a very good idea, and if Microsoft found out it would demand you switch to Win2K server. Win2K Server's much more suited to running IIS efficiently anyway.

  4. #4
    Your Lord and Master, Foamy gold trophy Hierophant's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    Lancaster, Ca. USA
    Posts
    12,305
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Moved this to a more appropriate forum.
    Wayne Luke
    ------------


  5. #5
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Posts
    1,483
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    IIS on Win2k Pro only supports up to 10 concurrent connections...not enough for a server.
    With Win2k Server, the number of concurrent connections is unlimited.

  6. #6
    SitePoint Wizard big_al's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    1,661
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Win2k pro is great for prototyping your webpages, it's fairly easy to setup and if your running a small intranet can be a more cost effective way of running it rather than buying win2k server.

  7. #7
    Serial Publisher silver trophy aspen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    East Lansing, MI USA
    Posts
    12,937
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Ya I'm just looking to fool around on it. Not actually host a site. Well except for maybe my own little one.

    I've never set up a server before though. I did work as an NT admin before but I didn't have to set things up.

    If I wanted to use it as a server what would I use for the DNS entries?

    Chris


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •