SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Formerly known as RockNRollPig Shpigford's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    2,877
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Exclamation viewing PHP in dreamweaver MX

    here's the deal...i'm using PHP includes for my website and im designing it in dreamweaver MX....i know that viewing it in normal view wont' display it correctly and it keeps me from actually being able to edit my page...i also know taht i have to be in Live Data view...but to do this i have to setup a "testing server" through dreamweaver...will my basically average computer allow me to do this? i have nothing set up on my computer as far as a real server goes...so is there something i need to download or what? any suggestions about anything would be helpful!! thanks!!

  2. #2
    Non-Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    5,748
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You have Apache? IIS? If so, then this'll do; you get a range of server's to choose from; the above for example, and including coldfusion for another one.

    It isn't a difficult job to do; basically all the work is done for you - you only select which server and database/lanaguage 'package' to use.

    i.e. Apache and mysql/php are both one options to use.

    Btw, for folks who don't have DW MX; it's one smart peice of software;

  3. #3
    ********* wombat firepages's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Perth Australia
    Posts
    1,717
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi you will need a webserver and PHP , after that I think the dreamweaver setup is simple as Dr L suggests.Most in this forum would suggest Apache for the server though you may have IIS or PWS already installed depending on your win version (if you are uploading to a *NIX machine then get apache regardless)Apache lives at http://www.apache.org & I guess you know where to get PHP (get the zip file not the installer)The apache installer mostly works though you will have to tinker with the httpd.conf to get PHP working with it as an apache module, ask again here if ya get stuck !

    PS - if you are unsure which apache to get , 1.3.27 is good if you have a slower machine and is more reliable in general, apache 2.0.44 is though quite stable with the latest PHP builds so consider that if you have a half decent computer.

  4. #4
    ********* Wizard silver trophy Cam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Burpengary, Australia
    Posts
    4,495
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by firepages
    PS - if you are unsure which apache to get , 1.3.27 is good if you have a slower machine and is more reliable in general, apache 2.0.44 is though quite stable with the latest PHP builds so consider that if you have a half decent computer.
    I don't have a super-dooper computer but I am running Apache 2.0.44/PHP5.0.0-dev quite happily as a Windows service. I have an AMD 800MHz with 320MB SD RAM.

  5. #5
    ********* wombat firepages's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Perth Australia
    Posts
    1,717
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by DJ P@CkMaN
    I don't have a super-dooper computer but I am running Apache 2.0.44/PHP5.0.0-dev quite happily as a Windows service. I have an AMD 800MHz with 320MB SD RAM.
    which is what I would call a half decent compuer for development purposes ..

    eg I have a 333 with 256MB that runs apache2 quite well but is a bit sluggish as compared to apache 1.3.*

  6. #6
    Formerly known as RockNRollPig Shpigford's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    2,877
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    alright...i know im a big dumb face...but i've been sittin at the apache site for 30 min. now and can't find the dang link to download the file....would someone like to point out to my dumb self where the link is? i've got a 1.2 Ghz pentium 4 with windows ME installed....so whichever file i need for that!! thanks so much for your suggestions so far!!

  7. #7
    ********* wombat firepages's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Perth Australia
    Posts
    1,717
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    http://httpd.apache.org/download.cgi

    for apache2 ..


    Win32 Binary (MSI Installer): apache_2.0.44-win32-x86-no_ssl.msi [PGP] [MD5]

  8. #8
    Non-Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    5,748
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It doesn't matter the specs - so long as it's not a Celeron.... LoL...

  9. #9
    Formerly known as RockNRollPig Shpigford's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    2,877
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    okay...so which of these do i pick for windows ME?

    Unix Source: httpd-2.0.44.tar.gz [PGP] [MD5]
    Unix Source: httpd-2.0.44.tar.Z [PGP] [MD5]
    Win32 Source: httpd-2.0.44-win32-src.zip [PGP] [MD5]
    Win32 Binary (MSI Installer): apache_2.0.44-win32-x86-no_ssl.msi [PGP] [MD5]
    Win95/98/ME Patch: apache_2.0.44-win9x-x86-apr-patch.zip [PGP] [MD5]
    Other Binaries


    do i download the Win32 Binary and then the ME patch? and also...what is the "PGP" and MD5" next to each option....make note...i have no clue what's going on when it comes to servers and what not...im getting there though
    Last edited by Shpigford; Mar 18, 2003 at 11:23.

  10. #10
    My precious!!! astericks's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    1,971
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I'm guessing this one:
    Win32 Binary (MSI Installer): apache_2.0.44-win32-x86-no_ssl.msi [PGP] [MD5]

    rockandrollpig, if you having trouble setting up the server, I'd suggest you go to firepages.com.au and download phpdev. It autoinstalls a test server for you. All you then have to do is put all your .php files in that server root folder and edit your DW siteconfiguration to point the root folder to the new one and 'declare' a test server [ http://localhost/ ]. that's all.

    And in case you are wondering, phpdev was developed by our friend here, firepages .

    asT.

  11. #11
    Formerly known as RockNRollPig Shpigford's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    2,877
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    ahhhh....i am getting sooooooooooo close!!! okay...i went the phpdev route...i think that proved easier in the end...so all taht installed just fine...so now my problem is dreamweaver mx...i think i've set it up correctly but here are my dreamweaver testing server settings:

    Server Model: PHP MySQL
    This site contains: Dreamweaver MX Pages Only
    Access: Local/Network
    Testing Server Folder: C:\sites\club\
    URL Prefix: http://localhost/

    sooo...with that being said...whenever i try to go into "live data" view i get the following error:

    HTTP error 12029 occurred while attempting to request the file http://localhost/links2.php from the testing server.

    Here are some possible reasons for the problem:
    1) Files in the "C:/sites/club/" folder that have the ".php" file extension are not being executed by the testing server.
    2) The "C:/sites/club/" folder does not map to the http://localhost/ URL in the testing server. Verify that the URL Prefix maps to the root of your site.

    sooo...anybody know what the problem is?

  12. #12
    ********* wombat firepages's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Perth Australia
    Posts
    1,717
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    phpdev ! - who would have thunk - cheers astericks (I hate mentioning phpdev to ME users as ME seems to have the biggest issues with phpdev?)

    Rock'nRoll , assuming you installed phpdev to say c:\phpdev & your www directory is in c:\phpdev\www then ...

    Testing Server Folder: C:\phpdev\www

    would probably be the right setting , I assume that you will have to plonk your project files in \www as well , but I know >< about dreamweaver



Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •