SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Cool XML/XSLT question

I been reading up on both. I understand xml and xslt but the question is this. If you needed to load dynamic information would you do that in the xslt file or the xml file? For instance you want to create a news article to use on another site. A news feed. You want to grab the headlines from your db and display it on another site. So would you grab the db info and insert it into a xml file and use xslt to format it? If so anyone have a tutorial on how to dynamically add information into a xml file from a db? Im guessing xml would hold this since the tutorials I been reading state xml is like a portal db or a plain text file holding information. Where xslt is just formatting the xml file.

Please go easy, im a newb when it comes to this.

Silly

Non-Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    For this I have the data from the database pulled based on a query, then put the data to an HTML TABLE.

For someone else on another site to access this TABLE, they simply place a Javascript link in their HTML somewhere.

The thing to understand with Javascript is that the browser will still parse it as javascript even though the extension is .php.

There are various ways of doing a news feed, this is mine. Though there is an article over at xml.com on doing this using only XSL-T - worth a look.

This is what I'll be using once I've found the time to actually read the article and not merely skim over it. LoL.

Have a look at www.devarticles.com as they have a few things on using php/mysql/xml/rss for news feeds.

Non-Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    When I remember - the HTML TABLE is created using Javascript btw - with the data read from the database by PHP. 8)

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)